Sign Up Now | Log In

Member Login


VA - Keep Lookin' - More Mod, Soul & Freakbeat Nuggets (2014)

13-12-2014, 17:02
Soul | Funk | R&B

VA - Keep Lookin' - More Mod, Soul & Freakbeat Nuggets (2014)

Artist: Various Artists
Title Of Album: Keep Lookin' - More Mod, Soul & Freakbeat Nuggets
Year Of Release: 2014
Label: RPM Records
Genre: Soul, Funk, R&B
Quality: Mp3, 320 kbps
Total Time: 01:16:04
Total Size: 184 Mb
WebSite: itunes


01. Laurel Aitken - Voodoo Woman
02. The Spektors - Gloria
03. The Others - Smokestack & Lightning
04. The Hi-Fi's - Mickey's Monkey
05. Ray Hoff & The Offbeats - Lookin' For My Pigs
06. The Arthur Brown Set - The Green Ball
07. The Birds - Magic Words
08. The Rockin' Vickers - Dandy

01. The Valentines - I Can't with You
02. The Spencer Davis Group - Taking out Time
03. S.O.U.L. Purpose - Boogaloo Down Broadway
04. Tuesdays Children - Summer Leaves Me with a Sigh
05. The Kompany - Tell Her No
06. Laurel Aitkins & The Carols - Sweet Precious Love
07. Willpower - Soul Finger
08. Liz Christian - Call My Name
09. Jacki Bond - Don't You Worry
10. Sands - River Deep Mountain High
11. John's Children - Go-Go Girl

01. The Underground Set - Arcipelago
02. John Fitch & Associates - Stoned out of It
03. The Valentines - Sookie Sookie
04. Andy Ellison - Cornflake Zoo
05. The Alan Bown - Love Is a Beautiful Thing
06. The Sorrows - Rollin' Over
07. Rescue Me - Mike Stuart Span
08. Fat Mattress - All Night Drinker
09. The Liverpool Scene - Batpoem"

"To tie in with the 50th anniversary of Mod, Cherry Red’s RPM imprint presents 80 cuts from the ‘60s across 3 discs, with a plush booklet that details each track and includes some great photos.
Mod has always been a strange old beast, with its many contradictory styles as well as its obvious fashion accessories. Even at its conception 50 years ago, there was a great deal of diversity in the music that Mods listened to, and so this 3 disc trawl through the ‘60s on Cherry Red’s RPM, naturally covers a lot of ground. For casual observers, it’s enough to get off on the music alone, without getting into the whole Mod ethos. Let’s leave that to the experts: the music is enough, and there’s plenty of great choices on this fabulous box set, which is the successor to the 2011 collection, Looking Back.
There’s also more going on than the styles listed in the compilation’s title. The thing to note though, is that you won’t find any “obvious” bands here, so forget The Who, Small Faces or even The Action and The Creation. Mod’s forgotten heroes (at least to the non-experts), The Artwoods (featuring Ronnie Wood’s older brother, Art) start the ball rolling, and they also give the box set its name with their stomping Keep Lookin’. They also have their own brand new collection out on Cherry Red, Steady Getting‘ It (The Complete Recordings 1964-67), coming soon.
There’s a cracking version of Them’s Gloria by The Spektors, which will give the original and the belting version by The Shadows of Knight a good run for their money. To pick just a few more highlights, there’s the soulful genius of Kris Ife (sadly deceased last year) with Give and Take, and Mod-psych from Toronto’s Dee and the Quotum with Someday You’ll Need Someone. And check out the fuzzed up freakbeat pop of Katch 22 with Major Catastrophe. At another end of the Mod spectrum, there’s Laurel Aitken, but here he’s not living up to his Godfather of Ska tag, and instead he gives us the Bo Diddley blues shuffle that is Voodoo Woman.
Keep Lookin’ is just a fantastic collection of great records, lovingly put together by Mod expert, Cherry Red’s very own John Reed. It works with or without the listeners prior knowledge of Mod, and the box set includes a brilliant booklet, which provides a track-by-track guide, and also includes some great photos, with record sleeves and band shots."

Tired of advertising and pop-ups? Join Now on IsraBox
Register on IsraBox allows you to access to the full resources. You can see torrent links, leave your comments, see hidden text, minimum advertising (no pop-ups), ask for supports and much more.

  • 100
7 voted

wondermouse   User offline   13 December 2014 22:37

Unfortunately this is very incomplete, containing only 26 tracks out of a total of 80.

Where's the rest of it?

These are excellent compilations but this is like a sampler for the full thing!

Any chance of a re-up with the whole contents of the 3CDs?

  • Dislike
  • 0
  • Like


Users of are not allowed to comment this publication.