Sign Up Now | Log In

Member Login


Nitty Gritty Dirt Band - Jambalaya: The Definitive Collection (2013)

9-12-2014, 11:11
Music | Blues | Country

Nitty Gritty Dirt Band - Jambalaya: The Definitive Collection (2013)

Artist: Nitty Gritty Dirt Band
Title Of Album: Jambalaya: The Definitive Collection
Year Of Release: 2013
Genre: Country/Rock/Blues/Americana
Label: Humphead Records
Quality: MP3 320 kbps
Total Time: 2:37:50
Total Size: 364 Mb

1. Jambalaya (On The Bayou) (3:26)
2. Battle Of New Orleans (3:19)
3. One Good Love (3:48)
4. Partners, Brothers And Friends - Live (3:50)
5. Ripplin' Waters (5:47)
6. Buy For Me The Rain (2:21)
7. Tennessee Stud (4:49)
8. Some Of Shelly's Blues (2:47)
9. When It's Gone (2:33)
10. An American Dream (3:26)
11. Fishin' In The Dark - Live (3:26)
12. Shot Full Of Love (3:22)
13. Badlands (3:30)
14. Bless The Broken Road (3:51)
15. I'm Thinking Tonight Of My Blue Eyes (4:28)
16. Catfish John (4:05)
17. Cosmic Cowboy (3:56)
18. (All I Have To Do Is) Dream (3:49)
19. I Saw The Light (4:23)
20. Workin' Man (Nowhere To Go) - Live (3:53)
21. Face On The Cutting Room Floor - Live (3:05)

1. Will The Circle Be Unbroken (5:37)
2. Mr Bojangles - Single Version (3:24)
3. One Step Over The Line (4:27)
4. House At Pooh Corner (2:35)
5. From Small Things (Big Things One Day Come) (3:54)
6. Randy Lynn Rag (1:45)
7. Life's Railway To Heaven (Circle Ii) (4:37)
8. Make A Little Magic (3:55)
9. And So It Goes (3:52)
10. Fire In The Sky (4:35)
11. Baby's Got A Hold On Me - Live (3:05)
12. Stand A Little Rain - Live (4:45)
13. Sixteen Tracks (5:09)
14. The Cure (2:03)
15. Dance Little Jean (3:13)
16. Grand Ole Opry Song (3:11)
17. Long Hard Road (Sharecropper's Dream) - Live (3:51)
18. Cadillac Ranch - Live (5:23)
19. Togary Mountain (Will The Circle Be Unbroken I) (2:29)
20. The Valley Road (Circle Ii) (4:11)
21. Riding Alone (Circle Ii) (3:07)

What can I say, one of my favourite all-time bunch of musicians and no less than 42 of their best recordings. A good many of which have star guests on them too. As you have selections from first two of the band’s Will The Circle Be Unbroken albums. The first was a mind-blowing, triple-vinyl affair recorded in 1971 (complete with more than one or two casual openings to the songs as verbal exchanges took place). That featured the who’s who in traditional country music plus a bluegrass act or two; a landmark recording, the bringing together of a bunch of long-haired hippy looking musicians in a casual, though professional fashion helped spark off a renewed interest and appreciation of the music of Mother Maybelle Carter, Jimmy Martin, Roy Acuff, Doc Watson, Merle Travis and a man who is still playing today, Norman Blake.

Hence you not only have the early country, jug-band, folk of the band’s early days but the progressive days (during which time they were listed as The Dirt Band) and 1980s plus years as they set about recording some of their finest country fare. As in material pulled from the albums Partners Brothers And Friends and Plain Dirt Fashion as they recorded, among others and charted with Rodney Crowell’s “Long Hard Road (Sharecropper’s Dream)”. One of a handful of live tracks featured, it along with the title-cut from the album “Partners Brothers And Friends” not only get to rub shoulders with the likes of “One Step Over The Line”. A killer duet from John Hiatt and Rosanne Cash but “Fishing In The Dark” and “Face On the Cutting Room Floor” (written with Steve Goodman) plus Michael Martin Murphy’s 1970s tune “Cosmic Cowboy” and the rousing “Sixteen Tracks”, “Battle Of New Orleans”. It is like a favourite juke box selection as classic old country fare “I Saw The Light”, “I’m Thinking Tonight Of My Blues Eyes”, “Tennessee Stud” featuring Acuff, Mother Maybelle and Travis are joined by early NGDB delights “House On Pooh Corner”, “Mr. Bojangles” (Jerry Jeff Walker) and “Ripplin’ Waters”. Ibbotson and Hanna contributed a good many of the band’s songs as the joy of being on the road and their own every day life story, plus those cleverly borrowed from the likes of the above noted Crowell (they also covered, to good effect his song “American Dream” and had the good fortune as they did during their formative days lend her beautiful singing voice), Bob McDill, Michael Nesmith, Allen Reynolds and others. Vocally, the collection also contains a duet with John Denver, Jimmy Martin (“Grand Ole Opry Song”) and a stirring, Johnny Cash opened version of “Will The Circle Be Unbroken” plus there is bluegrass girl, Alison Krauss lends gorgeous vocal support to the Johnny Russell hit “Catfish John” to whet one’s appetite. Oh, there is also the historic line-up for a Roy Acuff led version of “I Saw The Light”.

Take a bow Jeff Hanna, Jimmy Ibbotson, John McEuen, Jimmie Fadden and in later years, Bob Carpenter for you have helped make my day more times than I recall. God willing will do so for a great many more. My reissue; compilation of the year? It has been short-listed.

Tired of advertising and pop-ups? Join Now on IsraBox
Register on IsraBox allows you to access to the full resources. You can see torrent links, leave your comments, see hidden text, minimum advertising (no pop-ups), ask for supports and much more.

  • 100
2 voted

KINKAKAT   User offline   10 December 2014 06:02

Thank you !!

  • Dislike
  • 0
  • Like


Users of are not allowed to comment this publication.