Sign Up Now | Log In

Member Login


The Adderley Brothers - The Summer of '55 (1999) (LOSSLESS)

3-12-2014, 13:32
Music | Jazz | FLAC / APE

The Adderley Brothers - The Summer of '55 (1999) (LOSSLESS)

Artist: The Adderley Brothers
Title Of Album: The Summer of '55
Year Of Release: 1999
Label: Savoy Jazz
Genre: Jazz
Quality: WavPack (image+.cue)
Bitrate: Lossless
Time: 02:14:37 min
Total Size: 582 mb
WWW: allmusic

Julian "Cannonball" Adderley and Nat Adderley are both legendary names in jazz now, but when the material on these two discs was recorded in 1955, they were newcomers on the New York jazz scene. These 21 tracks were originally released on three separate LPs: the first as Bohemia After Dark (with drummer Kenny Clarke billed as leader), the second under Cannonball's name as Spontaneous Combustion, and the third titled That's Nat. This reissue leaves the tracks in the same order as that found on the original LPs (with the addition of several alternate takes). The playing is stupendous, and Cannonball's alto sax is particularly reminiscent of Charlie Parker at the peak of his powers. Cannonball and Nat's compositions, especially the very boppish "Chasm" and the bluesy "Hear Me Talkin' to Ya" simultaneously hark back to and expand the bebop tradition in a way that would lead directly to the hard bop sound of Art Blakey and others. On his solo date, Nat's trumpet style is a bit more individualized than Cannonball's alto; his tone is sweet, his phrasing fluid. The packaging is attractive and there are excellent liner notes. Highly recommended.

The Adderley Brothers - The Summer of '55 (1999) (LOSSLESS)
Disc 1:
01. Bohemia After Dark - Take 2 (6:06)
02. Bohemia After Dark - Take 1 (5:46)
03. Chasm (4:23)
04. Willow Weep For me (6:22)
05. Late Entry (3:16)
06. Hear me Talking to ya (9:13)
07. With Apologies to Oscar - Take 3 (5:43)
08. With Apologies to Oscar - Take 2 (5:45)
09. Spontaneous Combustion (10:07)
10. Still Talking to ya (8:51)
Disc 2:
01. A Little Taste - Take 2 (5:11)
02. A Little Taste - Take 3 (5:01)
03. Caribbean Cutie (7:04)
04. Flamingo (7:02)
05. We'll be Together Again (6:57)
06. Porky (5:16)
07. I Married an Angel (4:34)
08. Big E (10:42)
09. Kuzzin's Buzzin (5:12)
10. Ann Springs (6:19)
11. You Better go Now (5:59)

Nat Adderley - Cornet
Julian ''Cannonball'' Adderley - Alto Sax
Donald Byrd - Trumpet
Jerome Richardson - Flute & Tenor Sax
Horace Silver - Piano
Hank Jones - Piano
Paul Chambers - Bass
Wendell Marshall - Bass
Kenny Clarke - Drums

Tired of advertising and pop-ups? Join Now on IsraBox
Register on IsraBox allows you to access to the full resources. You can see torrent links, leave your comments, see hidden text, minimum advertising (no pop-ups), ask for supports and much more.

  • 100
2 voted


Users of are not allowed to comment this publication.