Sign Up Now | Log In

Member Login


Earl Gaines - Is Back: The Different Feelings Of Blues & Soul (2005)

1-12-2014, 07:19
Music | Blues | Soul

Earl Gaines - Is Back: The Different Feelings Of Blues & Soul (2005)

Artist: Earl Gaines
Title Of Album: Is Back: The Different Feelings Of Blues & Soul
Year Of Release: 2005
Label: Trace Recordings
Genre: Blue, Soul
Quality: Mp3
Bitrate: 320 kbps
Total Time: 45:37 Min
Total Size: 110 Mb


1. What Is Love
2. Let's Sit Down and Talk Things Over
3. I've Kissed My Last Ass
4. You Don't Love Me
5. Let's Party
6. So Satisfied
7. You're My Baby
8. Mistreated Woman
9. Let Me Live My Life My Way
10. Goodbye My Love
11. I Got to Sit Down and Get a Hold of Myself
12. Slipping Around Must Be Catching

In 1955 Gaines joined up with Louis Brooks & His Hi-Toppers as lead singer and scored a #2 R & B smash "It's Love Baby (24 Hours a Day)," which has become his signature song since. The outfit didn't score a followup hit and Gaines went solo for the same label, Excello, in addition to Champion and Poncello resulting a slew of unsuccessful singles. During this time he sang lead for Bill Doggett's band.

In 1966 he finally snagged a hit under his own name with "Best Of Luck To You" (#28 R 7 B) for the HBR label. He subsequently recorded record for Hollywood, Athens Deluxe/King and Seventy-Seven, including "Hymn Number 5".

Gaines recorded a single for Ace in 1975 ("Drowning On Dry Land") but then embarked on a fourteen year hiatus from the studio and working as a truck driver.

He resurged in 1989 with a new album "House Party" on Meltone Records, and this began his eventual comeback thanks in large part to producer Fred James. James, a Nashville-based producer whose affection for the classic Excello sound also resulted in the resurrection of onetime label staples including Clifford Curry and Roscoe Shelton; for Appaloosa, Gaines issued his 1995 comeback effort, "I Believe in Your Love", and in 1997 he also joined Curry and Shelton for a joint live recording. Since then he's appeared on a host of labels, culminating in his 2008 CD for Memphis-based Ecko Records.

Tired of advertising and pop-ups? Join Now on IsraBox
Register on IsraBox allows you to access to the full resources. You can see torrent links, leave your comments, see hidden text, minimum advertising (no pop-ups), ask for supports and much more.

  • 0
0 voted


Users of are not allowed to comment this publication.