Sign Up Now | Log In

Member Login


The Zombies - The Decca Stereo Anthology (2002)

24-11-2014, 18:01
Pop | Rock | FLAC / APE

The Zombies - The Decca Stereo Anthology (2002)

Artist: The Zombies
Title Of Album: The Decca Stereo Anthology
Year Of Release: 2002
Label: Big Beat Records / CDWIK2-225
Genre: Pop Rock, Psychedelic, Baroque Pop
Total Time: 1:59:08
Format: Mp3 / FLAC (tracks +.cue, log-file)
Quality: CBR 320 kbps / Lossless
Total Size: 286 mb / 814 mb (Artwork-60 mb)

The Zombies - The Decca Stereo Anthology (2002)

The Zombies - The Decca Stereo Anthology (2002)

This 2-CD set presents The Zombie's entire recorded output during their tenure at Decca from 1964-66 (outtakes and all) presented in fresh, crisp stereo mixes. The band and their producer Ken Jones never mixed any of their Decca sides for stereo. After their demise, a staff producer did some hasty remixes of their hits plus a few album/singles tracks: these are the stereo versions that have subsequently circulated on various reissues over the years. And several tracks from the Decca period have never ever appeared in stereo before at all. Big Beat has gone back to the original session tapes and remixed everything in a more sympathetic fashion, replicating the original mono reverb and EQ, and reinstating edits and overdubs wherever possible.


Disc One
1 It's Alright With Me 1:50
2 She's Not There 2:22
3 You Make Me Feel Good 2:35
4 Summertime 2:14
5 Woman 2:24
6 Leave Me Be 2:05
7 Kind Of Girl 2:08
8 Sometimes 2:05
9 I'm Goin' Home 1:48
10 Road Runner 2:03
11 Sticks & Stones 2:54
12 Walking In The Sun 2:36
13 I Don't Want To Know 2:08
14 Tell Her No 2:06
15 What More Can I Do 1:36
16 I Remember When I Loved Her 1:58
17 I Want You Back Again (Alternate) 2:07
18 Can't Nobody Love You 2:12
19 The Way I Feel Inside 1:45
20 I Got My Mojo Working 3:33
21 You've Really Got A Hold On Me / Bring It On Home To Me 3:38
22 I Can't Make Up My Mind 2:32
23 Work N' Play 2:02
24 I Want You Back Again (Single Version) 2:16

Disc Two
1 She's Coming Home 2:35
2 I Must Move 1:55
3 Just Out Of Reach 2:05
4 Remember You (Soundtrack Version) 2:09
5 Nothing's Changed 2:30
6 I'll Keep Trying 2:25
7 Don't Go Away 2:34
8 Whenever You're Ready 2:44
9 How We Were Before 2:06
10 I Love You 3:24
11 If It Don't Work Out 2:28
12 I Know She Will 2:32
13 Don't Cry For Me 2:15
14 Remember You (Single Version) 1:56
15 Is This The Dream 2:44
16 Indication 3:00
17 I'll Call You Mine 2:35
18 Gotta Get A Hold Of Myself 2:27
19 She Does Everything For Me 2:17
20 Goin' Out Of My Head 3:05
21 Leave Me Be (Backing Track Take 1) 2:22
22 Work N' Play (Take 2 False Start / Take 3) 2:35
23 Just Out Of Reach (Backing Track / Take 4) 1:53
24 Whenever You're Ready (Backing Track / Take 1) 3:11

There were a bunch of Zombies reissues in the 1990s and early 2000s, including a Zombies box set, Zombie Heaven, that seemed to gather just about everything conceivable recorded by the group. So how exactly does this two-CD, 48-song compilation of their 1964-1966 Decca sessions fit into the pecking order? Well, if you have the box set, it's for the fanatics, since most of these tracks also appear on that box. The crucial difference, though, is that these have been newly remixed for stereo. That's not a trifling distinction, since many of these songs have never been previously available in stereo (though it would have been nice if the otherwise admirably detailed liner notes made it clear which ones fall into that category). And you do get a little bit in the way of extras that haven't been previously available, in the form of backing tracks for "Leave Me Be," "Work n' Play," "Just out of Reach," and "Whenever You're Ready," as well as some bits and pieces of false starts to some of the tracks, though it would take a mighty dedicated Zombies specialist to figure out which such false starts might have previously appeared on other releases. On just two tracks, there's a little bit of 2002 overdubbing that might miff purists -- original Zombies drummer Hugh Grundy put an overdub on "She's Not There" to simulate the drum overdub that was used in the mono mix, as he did with a tambourine for "Is This the Dream." Keep in mind, though, that the mono mixes of those songs are available elsewhere (on Zombie Heaven, for instance, on the same label), so it's not as if any irreparable changes have been enacted. As for the music itself -- something that might get overlooked given the extremely specialized approach of this anthology -- it really is great, in remixed stereo as it is here, or in mono. For audiophiles and obsessives, these do give you the chance to hear this in conscientiously mixed stereo. But even if this is the only Zombies anthology you get, it's an excellent collection on its own terms, including all of their varied and wonderful singles and numerous non-single tracks recorded prior to 1967, showing them as one of the most melodically inventive rock bands ever. Note, however, that it has nothing recorded after 1966, which means there's no "Time of the Season" and nothing from their acclaimed Odessey & Oracle album.

Tired of advertising and pop-ups? Join Now on IsraBox
Register on IsraBox allows you to access to the full resources. You can see torrent links, leave your comments, see hidden text, minimum advertising (no pop-ups), ask for supports and much more.

  • 100
4 voted