Sign Up Now | Log In

Member Login


High Speed Downloads

VA - Mod Jazz and Then Some (2014)
[MP3 Version]

8946 downloads at 13 mb/s

VA - Mod Jazz and Then Some (2014)
[FLAC Version]

9672 downloads at 25 mb/s

VA - Mod Jazz and Then Some (2014)

8-11-2014, 18:34
Jazz | FLAC / APE

VA - Mod Jazz and Then Some (2014)

Artist: Various Artists
Title Of Album: Mod Jazz and Then Some
Year Of Release: 2014
Label: Kent Records/CDKEND 416
Genre: Jazz
Quality: 320 | FLAC (tracks,cue,log)
Total Time: 65:22
Total Size: 154 | 325 Мb
WebSite: Amazon


01. iAnother Child Lost - Floyd White
02. Dig In - The Pac-Keys
03. Hard Working Girl - Clarence Daniels & Obie Jessie
04. Bossa Baby - Googie Rene & His Combo
05. Hen House - Paul & Rick
06. Sister Sadie Part 1 - Shirley Scott
07. Saturday Night Stomp - Eddie "Blues Man" Kirkland
08. Leavin' Town - The Nightbeats
09. Free For All - King Curtis
10. The Fat Man - The TKO's
11. That's A Lie - Billy Larkin & His Orchestra
12. Watermelon Walk - The Five Counts
13. Congo Buggie - Freddy Washington's Band
14. Chili With Honey - Danny Bell & The Bell Hops
15. Poontwangie aka 3 O'Clock Stomp - B.B. King
16. Cooking In Grease - The Reuben Wilson Quartet
17.Troubles - Bobby Jenkins & His Quartet
18. Sorry 'Bout That - Chuck Higgins
19. Comin' Home Baby - Eric Kloss
20. In The Dark - Dave Hamilton
21. Bucket Full Of Soul - Trudy Pitts
22. Nature Boy - Etta Jones
23. You Were Wrong - The Miles Grayson Trio
24. El Tacos - Frenchy & The Chessmen

You probably know the “Mod Jazz” drill by now: 24 cuts that have the feel of a smoky early 60s basement about them, with plenty of jazz attitude, a touch of the blues (as Bobby “Blue” Bland might have sung) and a pinch of latin spice. It’s the sort of music that makes you want to don a midnight blue mohair two-piece with some well polished Bass Weejuns and take to the dancefloor. Floyd White’s ‘Another Child Lost’ is a slice of jazzy R&B which should have been released on the Invader label in 1965 but for some reason remained on the shelf. The Nightbeats featured the vocals of Jerry Fisher who later went on to replace David Clayton-Thomas in Blood, Sweat & Tears. They were signed to Musicor and ‘Leavin’ Town’ was just one of a host of tracks that they left behind in the vaults. Not unreleased, but extremely rare, is ‘Hard Working Girl’ recorded by Clarence Daniels with Obie Jessie for Modern’s Affiliated subsidiary; which takes a big bow to Oscar Brown Jr and sounds magnificent in master tape splendour with added run-out grooves. The spectre of Ramsey Lewis and his soulful piano are as ever present, notably on Dave Hamilton’s ‘In The Dark’ and the TKOs’ ‘Fat Man’. We’ve also got bluesy jazz rarities from the West Coast by Billy Larkin, Reuben Wilson and Bobby Jenkins, plus instrumentals by Chuck Higgins, the Pac-Keys, the Five Counts and others. The Prestige label was the home of “blue collar jazz”: the sound of lounges, diners and bars throughout industrial black America. Recorded in Rudy Van Gelder’s New Jersey studio, the sound he could get on a tightly rocking small combo is incomparable. We have six fine examples of his work, including the in-demand ‘Nature Boy’ by Etta Jones and Shirley Scott’s take on Horace Silver’s ‘Sister Sadie’.

Tired of advertising and pop-ups? Join Now on IsraBox
Register on IsraBox allows you to access to the full resources. You can see torrent links, leave your comments, see hidden text, minimum advertising (no pop-ups), ask for supports and much more.

  • 100
1 voted


Users of are not allowed to comment this publication.