Sign Up Now | Log In

Member Login


The Byrds - Byrdmaniax 1971 [Expanded & Remastered] (2014)

5-11-2014, 13:43
Music | Folk | Country | Rock | FLAC / APE

The Byrds - Byrdmaniax 1971 [Expanded & Remastered] (2014)

Artist: The Byrds
Title Of Album: Byrdmaniax
Year Of Release: 2014
Label: Sony Music / SICP-30419
Genre: Rock, Country Rock, Folk Rock
Total Time: 58:53 min
Format: Mp3 / FLAC (tracks +.cue, log-file)
Quality: CBR 320 kbps / Lossless
Total Size: 169 mb / 401 mb (Covers)

As legend has it, the Byrds wrapped up the basic tracks for Byrdmaniax in early 1971 and then hit the road for a concert tour, leaving producers Terry Melcher and Chris Hinshaw to polish the final mix. Melcher and Hinshaw then proceeded to add copious overdubs to what the group had set down, drowning the songs in a swampy morass of keyboards, horns, strings, and massed background singers in the misguided hope of making the album sound more "commercial" (even Clarence White's superb lead guitar often gets lost in the murk). The shame of it is that the aural gingerbread managed to spoil what might have been one of the Byrds' better albums; it's hard to imagine what Skip Battin's goofy "Citizen Kane" or Roger McGuinn's witty "I Wanna Grow Up to Be a Politician" were intended to sound like originally, but "I Trust" and "Kathleen's Song" are lovely if you can listen past the overproduction, and "Green Apple Quick Step" gives White and Gene Parsons plenty of room to show off their old-time country chops. Not an awful album, but Byrdmaniax is hardly the pleasure it could have been in the hands of a more tasteful production team. [The 1999 CD reissue adds three bonus tracks, including an un-overdubbed alternate take of "Pale Blue" that indicates how the album was originally intended to sound.]


Original Album Stereo Version
1 Glory, Glory 4:04
2 Pale Blue 2:22
3 I Trust 3:18
4 Tunnel Of Love 4:59
5 Citizen Kane 2:36
6 I Wanna Grow Up To Be A Politician 2:03
7 Absolute Happiness 2:37
8 Green Apple Quick Step 1:48
9 My Destiny 3:36
10 Kathleen's Song 2:40
11 Jamaica Say You Will 3:26

Mono Bonus Track
12 Glory, Glory (Single Version) 3:28

Stereo Bonus Tracks
13 I Trust (Live) 4:05
14 You Ain't Going Nowhere 2:28
15 Nothin' To It 1:38
16 Think I'm Gonna Feel Better 2:35
17 Just Like A Woman 3:55
18 Pale Blue (Alternate Version) 2:32
19 Glory, Glory (Stereo 45 Mix) 3:28



cbr 320 kbps


ALL Music

Tired of advertising and pop-ups? Join Now on IsraBox
Register on IsraBox allows you to access to the full resources. You can see torrent links, leave your comments, see hidden text, minimum advertising (no pop-ups), ask for supports and much more.

  • 100
2 voted