Sign Up Now | Log In

Member Login


The Joyful Company of Singers - A Garland for Linda (A Commemoration of the Life of Linda McCartney) (2000)

5-04-2016, 11:46
Classical Music | FLAC / APE

Title: A Garland for Linda (A Commemoration of the Life of Linda McCartney)
Year Of Release: 2000
Label: EMI
Genre: Classical
Quality: FLAC (image+.cue)
Total Time: 00:55:11
Total Size: 248 Mb


01. Silence and Music (Ralph Vaughan Williams) [04:50]
From A Garland for the Queen in 1953, the year of her coronation.
02. Prayer for the Healing of the Sick (John Tavener) [08:53]
Featuring John Tavener. From text by Mother Thekla and taken from the Russian Orthodox Service of Holy Unction.
03. Water Lilies (Judith Bingham) – [07:35]
Featuring Judith Bingham. Written in March 1999, drawing on the composer's experience of swimming.
04. Musica Dei Donum (John Rutter) [05:36]
Featuring John Rutter. Taken from a solo chorus text from 1594.
05. The Doorway of the Dawn (David Matthews) [0 4:53]
Featuring David Matthews. Write about Linda's qualities & feelings.
06. Nova (Paul McCartney) [06:28]
Featuring Paul McCartney. Written from November 1998 to May 1999.
07. I Dream'd (Roxanna Panufnik) [03:30]
Featuring Roxanna Panufnik. Arrangement for a cappella chorus of a work.
08. Farewell (Michael Berkeley) [03:30]
Featuring Michael Berkeley. Taken from fragments of literary ideas from Milton, Shakespeare and Elizabeth Speller.
09. The Flight of the Swan (Giles Swayne) [06:16]
Featuring Giles Swayne. Inspired by the death of James Manson in 1996 from brain cancer.
10. A Good-Night (Richard Rodney Bennett) [02:51]
Featuring Richard Rodney Bennett. From a poem by Francis Quarles.

The Joyful Company of Singers. Conducted by Peter Broadbent.
Original music by nine contemporary composers including Paul McCartney, John Rutter and John Tavener.

A Garland for Linda is a benefit album for the cancer-fighting organization the Garland Appeal. It is also a tribute album to Linda McCartney, who died of breast cancer in 1998. Her husband, Paul McCartney, contributes one selection, but it's not a pop song -- it's a classical piece. It is one of ten classical pieces, all written for Linda McCartney, by such modern classical composers as John Tavener, Judith Bingham, David Matthews, John Rutter, Roxanna Ranufnik, Michael Berkeley, Giles Swayne, and Sir Richard Rodney Bennett. The pieces are all similar in tone -- gentle, sometimes somber, yet always sweet. There may not be any major works here, but everyone's heart is in the right place, and the result is a sentimental mood piece that floats charmingly on its affection.

Tired of advertising and pop-ups? Join Now on IsraBox
Register on IsraBox allows you to access to the full resources. You can see torrent links, leave your comments, see hidden text, minimum advertising (no pop-ups), ask for supports and much more.

  • 100
1 voted

eminent   User offline   25 October 2014 17:11


  • Dislike
  • 0
  • Like


Users of are not allowed to comment this publication.