Sign Up Now | Log In

Member Login


Alexei Lubimov - Haydn: The Seven Last Words of Christ (2014) (LOSSLESS)

30-11-2015, 14:09
Music | Classical Music | FLAC / APE

Title: Haydn: The Seven Last Words of Christ
Year Of Release: 2014
Label: Zig Zag Territoires
Genre: Classical, Piano
Quality: FLAC (Image+.cue)
Total Time: 01:04:18 min
Total Size: 320 mb

Although it is played on a period instrument, no one is arguing that this recording of Haydn's The Seven Last Words of Christ is historically authentic. The work, exceptionally in Haydn's output, exists in multiple versions, for orchestra, string quartet, chorus, and keyboard (either fortepiano or harpsichord). But surely Haydn did not have the instrument heard here, the rare tangent piano, in his head. This was, speaking roughly, a piano-harpsichord hybrid that never really found its footing in the late 18th century. As long as listeners are down with the idea of a fairly speculative recording, the effect of the tangent piano in this particular work is electrifying. Lubimov gets the best of both worlds: the intimacy of the keyboard version and the dynamic contrasts and timbral shadings of the orchestral original. The keyboard transcription is not by Haydn himself but was made in his own time, and he approved it. Lubimov works from this, tweaking it and adding contrasts that break up the seven consecutive slow movements and give them an extraordinarily expressive quality. Even when listeners know it's coming, the final Terremoto movement, depicting the earthquake following Christ's crucifixion, comes as a shock. Listeners will never hear the work quite the same way again after experiencing this recording, and even if Haydn didn't intend it this way, most may well end up wishing he had.

Alexei Lubimov - Haydn: The Seven Last Words of Christ (2014) (LOSSLESS)
1. Introduzione : Maestoso ed adagio
2. Sonata I : 'Pater, dimitte illis'
3. Sonata II : 'Amen dico tibi : hodie mecum...'
4. Sonata III : 'Mulier, ecce filius tuus...'
5. Sonata IV : 'Eli, Eli, lama asabthani'
6. Sonata V : 'Sitio'
7. Sonata VI : 'Consomatum est'
8. Sonata VII : 'Pater, in tuas manus commendo...'
9. Il Terremoto : Presto e con tutta la forza

Tired of advertising and pop-ups? Join Now on IsraBox
Register on IsraBox allows you to access to the full resources. You can see torrent links, leave your comments, see hidden text, minimum advertising (no pop-ups), ask for supports and much more.

  • 100
2 voted

eminent   User offline   23 October 2014 14:54


  • Dislike
  • 0
  • Like

okuo   User offline   28 October 2014 09:01

Kindly Reup

  • Dislike
  • 0
  • Like


Users of are not allowed to comment this publication.