Sign Up Now | Log In

Member Login


Elliott Carter - A Nonesuch Retrospective [4 CD Box Set] (2009) (LOSSLESS)

22-10-2014, 09:16
Music | Classical Music | FLAC / APE

Elliott Carter - A Nonesuch Retrospective [4 CD Box Set] (2009) (LOSSLESS)

Artist: Elliott Carter
Title Of Album: A Nonesuch Retrospective
Year Of Release: 2009
Label: Nonesuch
Genre: Classical
Quality: FLAC (Tracks+.cue)
Bitrate: Lossless
Time: 04:29:21 min
Total Size: 1,11 Gb
WWW: allmusic

Between 1968 and 1990, Nonesuch produced a remarkable series of recordings on LP and CD showcasing the works of Elliott Carter, which for many listeners was their initial encounters with this challenging yet richly rewarding music. First experiences in many cases have proved to be the best as well, since several of these performances have achieved classic status and arguably have not been surpassed. Considering such great performers as mezzo-soprano Jan de Gaetani, pianists Paul Jacobs and Gilbert Kalish, cellists Joel Krosnick and Fred Sherry, flutist Harvey Sollberger, oboist Charles Kuskin, the Composers Quartet, the Contemporary Chamber Ensemble under Arthur Weisberg, and the Chicago Symphony Orchestra with James Levine, among other acclaimed artists, it's not difficult to grasp how highly their performances are esteemed and why they have remained in print for several years, when much of Nonesuch's modern music catalog from the 1970s and вАШ80s has disappeared. Fortunately, these recordings have been brought together in a slim box set of four discs and a generous booklet to celebrate Carter's 100th birthday, so the problem of collecting the individual albums has been eliminated. Here are 14 works that represent Carter's most important work from 1942 to 1982, basically the early and middle periods of his long career, since he has remained active into his centennial year and composed music not covered by this retrospective. Yet despite the lack of late pieces, this collection of core works is essential for any serious Carter admirer and is a comprehensive introductory package for newcomers to the music of this American original. Highly recommended.

Elliott Carter - A Nonesuch Retrospective [4 CD Box Set] (2009) (LOSSLESS)
Disc 1
Piano Sonata
01. 1. Maestoso
02. 2. Andante
Poems (3) of Robert Frost, for mezzo-soprano (or baritone) & small orchestra (or piano)
03. Dust of Snow
04. The Rose Family
Minotaur, ballet in 2 scenes, for orchestra: Scene 1. King Minos' Palace in Crete
05. Overture, The
06. Queen Pasiphae prepares for a tryst with the sacred bull, The
07. Entrance of the bulls and the sacred bull, The
08. Dance of the bulls and Pasiphae with the sacred bull, The
09. Interlude: Pasiphae's heartbeat becomes the pounding of hamme, The
Minotaur, ballet in 2 scenes, for orchestra: Scene 2. Before the Labyrinth
10. Building the labyrinth to imprison the Minotaur who destroys men, The
11. Entrance of King Minos, The
12. Selection of Greek victims to be sent into the labyrinth, The
13. Ariadne, princess of Crete, dances with Theseus, a Greek victim, The
14. Greek victims are driven into the labyrinth, The
15. Theseus' farewell to Ariadne as he enters the labyrinth, The
16. Ariadne unwinds her thread as Theseus, entering the labyrinth, pulls, The
17. Theseus fights and kills the Minotaur, The (as his movements are transmit
18. Ariadne rewinds her thread to lead Theseus out of the labyrinth, The
19. The thread breaks. Ariadne is greatly dismayed, The
20. Theseus and some of the Greeks emerge from the labyrinth and rejoice, The
21. The Greeks and Theseus, forgetting Ariadne, leave Crete, The
Elegy, for string orchestra
22. Elegy, for string orchestra

Disc 2
Sonata for cello & piano
01. Moderato
02. Vivace, molto leggiero
03. Adagio
04. Alegro
String Quartet No. 1
05. Fantasia: Maestoso - Allegro scorrevole
06. Allegro scorrevole - Adagio
07. Variations
Sonata for flute, oboe, cello & harpsichord
08. Risoluto
09. Lento
10. Allegro

Disc 3
Variations for Orchestra
01. Variations for Orchestra
String Quartet No. 2
02. Introduction
03. 1. Allegro fantastico
04. Cadenza for Viola
05. 2. Presto scherzando
06. Cadenza for Cello
07. 3. Andante espressivo
08. Cadenza for First Violin
09. 4. Allegro
10. Conclusion
Double Concerto for harpsichord, piano & 2 chamber orchestras
11. Introduction
12. Cadenza for Harpsichord
13. Allegro scherzando
14. Adagio
15. Presto
16. Cadenzas for Piano
17. Coda

Disc 4
Night Fantasies, for piano
01. Night Fantasies, for piano
Triple Duo, for ensemble
02. Allegro
03. Vivo - Animato
04. Allegretto
05. Vivo
06. Maestoso - Lento - Maestoso - Scherzoso
07. Allegro fantastico
In Sleep, in Thunder, for tenor & 14 instruments
08. Dolphins
09. Across the Yard: La Ignota
10. Harriet
11. Dies Irae
12. Careless Night
13. In Genesis

Tired of advertising and pop-ups? Join Now on IsraBox
Register on IsraBox allows you to access to the full resources. You can see torrent links, leave your comments, see hidden text, minimum advertising (no pop-ups), ask for supports and much more.

  • 100
2 voted

eminent   User offline   22 October 2014 10:02


  • Dislike
  • 0
  • Like

gibheid   User offline   22 October 2014 13:19


  • Dislike
  • 0
  • Like


Users of are not allowed to comment this publication.