Sign Up Now | Log In

Member Login


Vladimir Feltsman - J.S.Bach: 7 Keyboard Concertos (2009) (LOSSLESS)

21-10-2014, 12:17
Music | Classical Music | FLAC / APE

Vladimir Feltsman - J.S.Bach: 7 Keyboard Concertos (2009) (LOSSLESS)

Artist: Vladimir Feltsman
Title Of Album: J.S.Bach: 7 Keyboard Concertos
Year Of Release: 2009
Label: Nimbus
Genre: Classical
Quality: FLAC (Image+.cue)
Bitrate: Lossless
Time: 01:48:01 min
Total Size: 439 mb
WWW: allmusic

Originally recorded for the small Music Masters label in the early '90s, this set of Bach's keyboard concertos was among a series of choice Music Masters items reissued by Nimbus late in the first decade of the 21st century. The Russians have never been known for Bach, but this is a solid traversal that can be recommended to anyone wanting to hear these concertos on a piano accompanied by modern instruments. Despite these forces, there is a good deal of influence from the British historical-instrument movement apparent here; the crisp string playing avoids any hint of Romantic sheen, and Feltsman is very subtle in his introduction of purely pianistic elements. The long notes in the slow movements tend to be just a bit more extended than would be possible on a harpsichord, and Feltsman thus creates a smooth, pearly texture that's quite lyrical. In several of the finales he pushes the tempo to high speeds, creating an entirely different effect on a piano that the music would have on a harpsichord. The sole real complaint is the omission of the Keyboard Concerto No. 6 in F major, BWV 1057, an arrangement of the Brandenburg Concerto No. 4. It is replaced with the Italian Concerto for solo keyboard, BWV 971, for which Feltsman delivers a light, fleet performance. But the Brandenburg arrangement, the last in the set, was probably intended by Bach as its capstone, and it's not clear why it was left out, especially inasmuch as there was plenty of room for it on a compact disc. The sound environment was one of those early CD recordings that attempted, with its foregrounded upper end that caught lots of ambient noise, to mimic the experience of hearing an LP, and it actually works well with Feltsman's readings, which hark back to the 1960s. The recordings were made at the American Academy and Institute of Arts and Letters in New York. The booklet, in English only, is another attraction; the notes by American critic Tim Page could not offer a more concise argument for why one should care about these pieces.

Vladimir Feltsman - J.S.Bach: 7 Keyboard Concertos (2009) (LOSSLESS)
Keyboard Concerto in D Minor BWV 1052
1. I. Allegro
2. II. Adagio
3. III. Allegro
Keyboard Concerto in E Major BWV 1053
4. I. Allegro
5. II. Siciliano
6. III. Allegro
Keyboard Concerto in D Major BWV 1054
7. I. Allegro
8. II. Adagio e piano sempre
9. III. Allegro

Keyboard Concerto in A Major BWV 1055
01. I. Allegro
02. II. Larghetto
03. III. Allegro ma non tanto
Keyboard Concerto in F Minor BWV 1056
04. I. Allegro
05. II. Largo
06. III. Presto
Keyboard Concerto in G Minor BWV 1058
07. I. Allegro
08. II. Andante
09. III. Allegro assai
Concerto nach Italienischem gusto BWV 971
10. I. [Without tempo indication]
11. II. Andante
12. III. Presto

Tired of advertising and pop-ups? Join Now on IsraBox
Register on IsraBox allows you to access to the full resources. You can see torrent links, leave your comments, see hidden text, minimum advertising (no pop-ups), ask for supports and much more.

  • 100
1 voted

eminent   User offline   21 October 2014 12:48


  • Dislike
  • 0
  • Like


Users of are not allowed to comment this publication.