Sign Up Now | Log In

Member Login


6 String Drag - The Jag Sessions Rare & Unreleased 1996-1998 (2014)

15-10-2014, 13:46
Music | Rock

6 String Drag - The Jag Sessions Rare & Unreleased 1996-1998 (2014)

Artist: 6 String Drag
Title Of Album: The Jag Sessions Rare & Unreleased 1996-1998
Year Of Release: 2014
Genre: Rock
Label: Self Produced
Quality: MP3 320 kbps
Total Time: 51:17
Total Size: 130 Mb

1. Brasstown (2:29)
2. Cry Cry Cry (4:34)
3. Just A Shame (3:21)
4. Elaine (3:32)
5. Red (3:28)
6. Just Another Thing (3:56)
7. Mercury's Blues (3:15)
8. The Changeup (2:03)
9. Murder-Go-Round (3:54)
10. Gasoline Maybelline (1:58)
11. Bottle Of Blues (3:17)
12. Blues Too Blue To Mention (5:04)
13. No One's Arms (3:12)
14. Trouble On The Jackson Farm (7:09)

Originally formed in 1993, 6 String Drag is back at it in 2014 after a 15-year break. On January 4 the band reformed for a sold-out show in Raleigh, N.C., putting on an electrifying performance as if they’d never left the stage as a unit more than 15 years prior. Just two weeks later they reunited again in Kernersville, N.C., at Fidelitorium Studio to record a full album of mostly new material.

6 String Drag started out in 1993 shortly after the break-up of Kenny Roby's former punk rock 'n' roll band The Lubricators. The new band originally consisted of friends playing in the basement of Roby's rented house in Raleigh, N.C. They played a few small house parties before Kenny left Raleigh to return to his hometown in Clemson, S.C., where he joined forces with old friend Rob Keller, along with various rotating members to form the second version of 6 String Drag. (Original members included Brian Dyar, Chris Ellenburg, Tony Tidwell, Glenn Cannon and Ed Campbell.) Most of these players appeared on the first 6 String Drag album, Six String Drag, recorded at guitarist Glenn Cannon's studio and later released on Fundamental Records in 1995.

After his return to the music scene with the release of Train A Comin' and I Feel Alright in 1995 and ’96, respectively, Steve Earle, along with Jack Emerson, formed an imprint label under Warner Brothers called E-Squared Records. Earle and Emerson drove from Nashville to an Atlanta festival to check out then-unsigned Whiskeytown and other acts. At the urging of a friend of Steve's, they arrived early enough to check out 6 String Drag. Steve and Jack were blown away by the explosive energy of the band, their songs and the harmony vocals of Rob Keller and Kenny Roby.

The next morning Earle and Emerson offered 6 String Drag a record deal.

“This girl drug me to Atlanta to see Whiskeytown, and 6 String Drag was opening. I signed them instead. Not that I thought Whiskeytown was bad. 6 String Drag was just more interesting to me and I wish to §*&^%$ they could’ve lasted. Their record (High Hat) was my favorite we made on that label. They were really special. Had this thing like The Band, where it’s so loose it’s tight, and I liked the way Kenny and Rob sang together." - Steve Earle

In October 1996 and January 1997 the band went into the studio with Earle and Ray Kennedy to record High Hat, the band’s second record. High Hat was released to great acclaim from fans and critics alike. The band toured throughout the U.S. in 1997 and 1998, opening for Earle as well as The Jayhawks, Whiskeytown, Buddy and Julie Miller, Son Volt and others, playing E-Squared showcases with other label acts, and performing at numerous festivals.

Then, late in 1998, the band essentially broke up. It wasn’t a Kinks-style situation of close friends and brothers not getting along anymore. Or of drug and “demon alcohol” issues getting in the way of professional goals. It was more a matter of life changes than artistic direction. Three of the four band members became new fathers and struggled to balance the demands of fatherhood with budding careers and band obligations.

Principal writer and leader Kenny Roby jumped back in the studio right away to record and release his acclaimed first solo effort, Mercury’s Blues. He continued to record, releasing four critically acclaimed albums between 1999 and 2013 — Mercury’s Blues (1999), Rather Not Know (2003), The Mercy Filter (2006) and Memories & Birds (2013).

Rob Keller had co-owned and managed a record store, first in Clemson and then in Raleigh (Roby also worked there at different times). After the break-up of 6 String Drag, Keller dove head-first into keeping the store afloat, eventually moving it back to Clemson. The store closed a few years later due to a struggling music business in general and the near-death of brick and mortar stores. Soon thereafter, he moved to Athens, Ga., where he joined with one-time 6 String Drag guitarist William Tonks (now of Bloodkin) and Ben Reynolds (of Chickasaw Mudd Puppies) to form Workhorses of the Entertainment/Recreational Industry. Keller later formed the bluegrass band The Welfare Liners, releasing a self-titled EP in 2011 and the full-length High On A Hilltop in 2012.

Ray Duffey continued to play drums on and off with Roby before eventually moving to Indianapolis, Ind., to pursue a master’s degree in furniture design. He still lives in Indianapolis, runs a university woodworking shop, and teaches furniture building and design. Guitarist Scott Miller continued to play with other bands in the Raleigh area and worked as a studio session guitarist.

Tired of advertising and pop-ups? Join Now on IsraBox
Register on IsraBox allows you to access to the full resources. You can see torrent links, leave your comments, see hidden text, minimum advertising (no pop-ups), ask for supports and much more.

  • 0
0 voted


Users of are not allowed to comment this publication.