Sign Up Now | Log In

Member Login


Frances Faye - Frances Faye Sings Folk Songs (Remastered 2014)

27-08-2016, 15:00
Jazz | Pop

Title: Frances Faye Sings Folk Songs
Year Of Release: 1957/2014
Label: Bethlehem Records
Genre: Jazz/Pop Vocals
Quality: 320 kbps
Total Time: 43:50
Total Size: 104 MB

01. Frankie And Johnny (6:13)
02. Greensleeves (4:17)
03. Skip To My Lou (2:12)
04. Lonesome Road (2:44)
05. Nobody Knows The Trouble I've Seen/Deep River/Goin' Home (4:31)
06. Johnny Has Gone For A Soldier (2:37)
07. St. James Infirmary (4:10)
08. Go 'way From My Window (2:24)
09. The Three Ravens (3:22)
10. Oh My Darling, Clementine (3:15)
11. Oif'n Pripitchik/Too-Ra-Loo-Ra-Loo-Ral/Come Back To Sorrento (4:12)
12. John Henry (3:49)

Frances Faye was a spirited middle-of-the-road pop/cabaret singer. During 1955-1957 she was one of Bethlehem's few non-jazz artists although being with that label resulted in her interacting with veteran jazz musicians. In 1957 when it looked like folk music was going to be the next big trend (it would be, but not until the early '60s), she recorded a set of traditional melodies while accompanied by brass and string orchestra arranged by Russ Garcia that included West Coast jazz players (including Maynard Ferguson, Don Fagerquist, and Frank Rosolino). Faye was not the most subtle of singers but she sounds quite expressive on such numbers as "Frankie and Johnny," "St. James Infirmary," "John Henry," a variety of ancient folk songs, and even "Clementine." Five previously unreleased alternate takes round out this intriguing program.

My Blog
For requests/re-ups, please send me private message.

Tired of advertising and pop-ups? Join Now on IsraBox
Register on IsraBox allows you to access to the full resources. You can see torrent links, leave your comments, see hidden text, minimum advertising (no pop-ups), ask for supports and much more.

  • 100
1 voted


Users of are not allowed to comment this publication.