Sign Up Now | Log In

Member Login


Grateful Dead - Live at the Cow Palace: New Year's Eve 1976 (2014)

9-10-2014, 13:21
Music | Folk | Country | Rock | FLAC / APE

Grateful Dead - Live at the Cow Palace: New Year's Eve 1976 (2014)

Artist: Grateful Dead
Title Of Album: Live at the Cow Palace: New Year's Eve 1976
Year Of Release: 2014
Label: Friday Music / FRM-74816
Genre: Psychedelic Rock, Folk Rock
Total Time: 3:12:02
Format: Mp3 / FLAC (tracks, vinyl)
Quality: 320kbps / Lossless 48kHz/16bit / 96kHz/24bit
Total Size: 477 mb / 1.15 gb / 3.98 gb (Covers)

Grateful Dead - Live at the Cow Palace: New Year's Eve 1976 (2014)

With Live at the Cow Palace, Grateful Dead Productions’ newly-formed alliance with Rhino is off to an auspicious start. The three-CD New Year’s Eve 1976 is a stunning performance; its combination of improvisational restraint and sense of adventure embroiders a diverse selection of songs.

The Grateful Dead do take a couple of numbers to gain traction. Jerry Garcia graces Chuck Berry’s “Promised Land” with a couple of gaffes, while “Bertha” is the sound of the septet just beginning to flex its collective muscle. A clutch of structured tunes, including the graceful ballet “The Love Each Other” and a truly poignant “Looks Like Rain” (where vocalist Donna Godchaux keeps herself in check) allows the group to marshal its strength.

The Dead bring a potent force to bear through a forty-minute “Playing' in the Band.” The piece has at least three distinct themes interwoven throughout free playing, but it is nevertheless only the first peak of the evening in San Francisco. The sequence of material illustrates archivist David Lemieux's observations in the liner notes well: at the end of a year following vacation, the group sounds vibrant on tunes of recent vintage, such as “Scarlet Begonias,” and chestnuts to be like “Not Fade Away” remain fresh.

This wide range of Grateful Dead history contains its share of surprises, too. Some songs are radically rearranged, like the propulsive uptempo romp through “Eyes of the World,” or the loving deliberation with which the group graces “Around and Around.” In addition, all the musicians play their respective roles effectively; Weir’s rhythm guitar work is particularly muscular on “Help on the Way” and “Slipknot.” The drums that segue from the latter illustrate how Bill Kreutzmann and Mickey Hart created percussive intricacy instead of relying on bombast.

Throughout these three-plus hours, the Dead continually pivot around the mammoth sound of Phil Lesh’s bass and, equally importantly, derive inspiration from the vigor of guitarist/vocalist Jerry Garcia. The latter’s gusto as he sings “Wharf Rat” is as notable as his abandon on “We Bid You Goodnight.” The passion of his guitar playing is comparable throughout the stately elegiac “Morning Dew” and a lilting “Uncle John’s Band.” While the late titular leader of this hallowed band had his off-years as the next decade came and went, here he sounds every bit the icon.

Live at the Cow Palace boasts full, streamlined sound. Jeffrey Norman’s HDCD mastering from the thirty-year old recording by Bob Mathews and Betty Cantor-Jackson reveals many nuances (like Keith Godchaux’s barrelhouse piano), and the Tim Truman artwork that adorns the triple-fold digipak is worth checking out. As a result, discovering the mariachi motif of “Good Lovin'” is as likely to bring a smile as noticing the lightning bolt tattoos adorning the bovine figures on the inside cover. Good ol’ Grateful Dead indeed. By Doug Collette


01. Promised Land
02. Bertha
03. Mama Tried
04. They Love Each Other
05. Looks Like Rain
06. Deal
07. Playing In The Band
08. Sugar Magnolia
09. Eyes Of The World
10. Wharf Rat
11. Good Lovin'
12. Samson & Delilah
13. Scarlet Begonias
14. Around And Around
15. Help On The Way - Slipknot!
16. Drums
17. Not Fade Away
18. Morning Dew
19. One More Saturday Night
20. Uncle John's Band
21. We Bid You Goodnight

Jerry Garcia: lead guitar and vocals
Donna Godchaux: vocals
Keith Godchaux: piano
Mickey Hart: drums
Bill Kreutzmann: drums
Phil Lesh: electric bass, vocals
Bob Weir: rhythm guitar, vocals.

Tired of advertising and pop-ups? Join Now on IsraBox
Register on IsraBox allows you to access to the full resources. You can see torrent links, leave your comments, see hidden text, minimum advertising (no pop-ups), ask for supports and much more.

  • 80
4 voted