Sign Up Now | Log In

Member Login


Kendl Winter - The Mechanics of Hovering Flight (2012)

9-10-2014, 08:06
Folk | Country | Pop | Indie | FLAC / APE

Kendl Winter - The Mechanics of Hovering Flight (2012)

Artist: Kendl Winter
Title Of Album: The Mechanics of Hovering Flight
Year Of Release: 2012
Label: K Records / KLP238
Genre: Indie Folk, Bluegrass, Country
Total Time: 51:33 min
Format: Mp3 / FLAC (tracks)
Quality: CBR 320 kbps / Lossless
Total Size: 123 mb / 317 mb

With her fifth solo collection (and second for indie legends K Records), Pacific-Northwesterner Kendl Winter brings her bluegrass-touched indie folk to a new plateau in terms of songwriting and production. Expanding on 2010's beautiful Apple Core, Winter's songs on The Mechanics of Hovering Flight swing a wide emotional pendulum, her slightly raspy voice soaring between uplifting banjo-picking romps and wine-soaked old-timey country melancholia. On the later, Winter's voice dips into a Southern dip-thong, as on the waltz-time of "Faded", where she croons bright-eyed-but-sorrowful lines about driving through Utah and a detached helplessness in watching love fade away. Elsewhere there are hints of social and environmental consciousness. These undercurrents prop up breezy album opener "Summertime", juxtaposing an airy arrangement of stand-up bass and sleepy drums with understated lyrics about sustainability and picking up the pieces. Backed up by a plethora of Northwest musicians, Winter's songs crackle with the added flair of Austin Cooper's jittery percussion, synth and string players. There's also the K Records tradition the inclusion of a large group chorus adding a communal air to the triumphant refrain of "All The Birds". While Winter's first few home-recorded albums never suffered from the typical jagged edges DIY indie recordings often can, there was always an insular quality to their sound, even in her collaborations with other musicians. The Mechanics of Hovering Flight marks her first stray from self-recording, and Calvin Johnson's production opens up the album with a roominess and attention to small details that was absent in earlier works. This open-air sound is a great fit for the songs. With one foot in a deeply traditional neo-bluegrass sound not unlike Gillian's Welch's and the other in a darkly dreamy indie identity unafraid to explore and experiment, Mechanics shows Winter hitting her stride and finding a way to marry the two halves of her sound gracefully and organically.


01. Summertime
02. Shades of Green
03. Faded
04. Do You Leave the Lights On
05. Story My
06. The Time it Takes
07. Fill My Glass
08. Mama Will Buy
09. Buttercup
10. Long Way
11. Quit Your Job Joe
12. All the Birds
13. Crows in the Snow



cbr 320 kbps


ALL Music

Tired of advertising and pop-ups? Join Now on IsraBox
Register on IsraBox allows you to access to the full resources. You can see torrent links, leave your comments, see hidden text, minimum advertising (no pop-ups), ask for supports and much more.

  • 100
2 voted