Sign Up Now | Log In

Member Login


King Sunny Ade - The Return of the Juju King (1987)

8-10-2014, 10:04
Funk | World | Folk | Ethnic | FLAC / APE

King Sunny Ade - The Return of the Juju King (1987)

Artist: King Sunny Ade
Title Of Album: The Return of the Juju King
Year Of Release: 1987
Label: Mercury / 832-522-2
Genre: Afrobeat, Juju, Afro-Pop, World
Total Time: 50:24 min
Format: Mp3 / FLAC (tracks +.cue, log-file)
Quality: CBR 320 kbps / Lossless
Total Size: 121 mb / 308 mb

This compilation of King Sunny Ade's work is a mixed bag. The music is fabulous, and a perfect introduction to Ade's relatively early work. What's not perfect is the way the album is put together. In the case of "Olomonge Ma Jo," and many of the other tracks, what you get is an extract, rather than the whole piece. It gives the producers an opportunity to showcase more facets of Ade's material, but in doing so the power and flow of the band is sacrificed--an awkward tradeoff. However, if you can live with that, what comes out of the speakers won't let you down, as the juju rhythms, propelled by a powerhouse percussion section, the snaking pedal steel, and Ade's wonderfully persuasive voice, keep things moving along in a manner that's impossible to resist. --Chris Nickson

Review by Adam Greenberg
A compilation of songs from three albums on Atom Park, King Sunny Ade's own label formed after the end of his relationship with Island. Here, the first three on the new label are summarized for American audiences. The sound is from the "synchro system" end of the spectrum, with slightly psychedelic guitar effects here and there and loping beats bumped out by a collection of talking drums as well as the usual drum kit. The ukulele makes itself heard above all other instruments as necessary, alternating between careful plucking and distorted filler runs. As a comeback of sorts after a relatively disappointing run with Island, the albums represented by this compilation stand as something of a testament to Ade's staying power despite the lack of commercial success at his first attempt in the West. For a quick look at the work that brought Ade back onto the scene, Return of the Juju King makes for a nice reprise, though ultimately the Nigerian releases might be better suited for a full representation.


1. Sunny Loni Ariya
2. Sweet Banana
3. Olomoge Ma Jo
4. Mo Ti Kole Mi Sori Apata
5. Ona Mi La
6. My Dear
7. E Gbe Kini Yi Laruge
8. Odu Oteyi Yato
9. Emi Nfe
10. Ori O Bami Se Temi
11. A Mbo O
12. Oluwa Lo Yan Mi Wa
13. Let Them Say
14. Mo Ti Gb'Ohun Oluwa
15. Gbass Kelele
16. Ma Jo Bi Olokun
17. E Ba Mi Dupe F'Oluwa



cbr 320 kbps


ALL Music

Tired of advertising and pop-ups? Join Now on IsraBox
Register on IsraBox allows you to access to the full resources. You can see torrent links, leave your comments, see hidden text, minimum advertising (no pop-ups), ask for supports and much more.

  • 20
1 voted