Sign Up Now | Log In

Member Login


Gladys Knight & The Pips - The One And Only [Expanded & Remastered] (2013)

2-10-2014, 08:02
Soul | Funk | R&B | Disco | FLAC / APE

Gladys Knight & The Pips - The One And Only [Expanded & Remastered] (2013)

Artist: Gladys Knight & The Pips
Title Of Album: The One And Only
Year Of Release: 2013
Label: Funky Town Grooves/Buddah Records/Sony Music
Genre: Funk, R&B, Soul, Disco
Total Time: 1:19:58
Format: Mp3 / FLAC (tracks)
Quality: CBR 320 kbps / Lossless
Total Size: 192 mb / 521 mb

In 1978, Gladys Knight & the Pips recorded one album as a group in addition to doing some recording separately. That year, Knight provided her first solo album, Miss Gladys Knight, for Buddah/Arista, while the Pips recorded Callin' (their second album without her) for Casablanca. And together, they recorded The One and Only, which didn't go down in history as one of their all-time classics but is a generally pleasant, if unspectacular, soul-pop outing. This LP finds the quartet working with various producers, including Michael Masser, Richie Wise, Tony Camillo, and the Van McCoy/Charles Kipps team. The album's best-known offering is the disco-flavored single "It's a Better Than Good Time," which Knight also recorded as a solo artist in 1978. Other decent tracks range from the vibrant "Come Back and Finish What You Started" (written by McCoy/Kipps) to the ballad "What If I Should Ever Need You" and the exuberant, gospel-minded "Saved By the Grace of Your Love." Nothing on The One and Only is in a class with "Midnight Train to Georgia" or "I Feel a Song (In My Heart)," but none of the material is bad either. Although not essential and not recommended to casual listeners, The One and Only is worth hearing if you're among Gladys Knight & the Pips' die-hard fans.


01 Sorry Doesn't Always Make It Right 4:13
02 Come Back And Finish What You Started 3:33
03 All The Time 4:40
04 It's A Better Than Good Time 5:51
05 Butterfly 4:28
06 The One And Only 3:03
07 Saved By The Grace Of Your Love 2:58
08 Don't Say No To Me Tonight 3:37
09 Be Yourself 4:02
10 What If I Should Ever Need You 4:20
11 It's Up To You (Do What You Do) (7'' Version) (Bonus Track) 3:53
12 It's A Better Than Good Time (Full Extended Mix) (Bonus Track) 12:04
13 Saved By The Grace Of Your Love (12'' Version) (Bonus Track) 8:49
14 I'm Still Caught Up With You (7'' Version) (Bonus Track) 3:57
15 It's A Better Than Good Time (7'' Version) (Bonus Track) 3:45
16 Everybody's Got To Find A Way (7'' Version) (Bonus Track) 3:52
17 Stringman (Demo) (Bonus Track) 2:46



cbr 320 kbps


ALL Music

Tired of advertising and pop-ups? Join Now on IsraBox
Register on IsraBox allows you to access to the full resources. You can see torrent links, leave your comments, see hidden text, minimum advertising (no pop-ups), ask for supports and much more.

  • 80
8 voted