Sign Up Now | Log In

Member Login


Funkadelic - One Nation Under a Groove 1978 [[Japanese Remastered Edition] (2000)

25-09-2014, 09:18
Soul | Funk | R&B | Rock | FLAC / APE

Funkadelic - One Nation Under a Groove 1978 [[Japanese Remastered Edition] (2000)

Artist: Funkadelic
Title Of Album: One Nation Under a Groove
Year Of Release: 2000
Label: Victor / VICP-61075
Genre: P.Funk, Psychedelic Soul, Rock
Total Time: 1:15:33
Format: Mp3 / FLAC (tracks +.cue, log-file)
Quality: CBR 320 kbps / Lossless
Total Size: 205 mb / 575 mb (Covers)

One Nation Under a Groove was not only Funkadelic's greatest moment, it was their most popular album, bringing them an unprecedented commercial breakthrough by going platinum and spawning a number one R&B smash in the title track. It was a landmark LP for the so-called "black rock" movement, best-typified in the statement of purpose "Who Says a Funk Band Can't Play Rock?!"; more than that, though, the whole album is full of fuzzed-out, Hendrix-style guitar licks, even when the music is clearly meant for the dancefloor. This may not have been a new concept for Funkadelic, but it's executed here with the greatest clarity and accessibility in their catalog. Furthermore, out of George Clinton's many conceptual albums (serious and otherwise), One Nation Under a Groove is the pinnacle of his political consciousness. It's unified by a refusal to acknowledge boundaries -- social, sexual, or musical -- and, by extension, the uptight society that created them. The tone is positive, not militant -- this funk is about community, freedom, and independence, and you can hear it in every cut (even the bizarre, outrageously scatological "P.E. Squad"). The title cut is one of funk's greatest anthems, and "Groovallegiance" and the terrific "Cholly" both dovetail nicely with its concerns. The aforementioned "Who Says a Funk Band Can't Play Rock?!" is a seamless hybrid that perfectly encapsulates the band's musical agenda, while "Into You" is one of their few truly successful slow numbers. The original LP included a three-song bonus EP featuring the heavy riff rock of "Lunchmeataphobia," an unnecessary instrumental version of "P.E. Squad," and a live "Maggot Brain"; these tracks were appended to the CD reissue. In any form, One Nation Under a Groove is the best realization of Funkadelic's ambitions, and one of the best funk albums ever released.


1. "One Nation Under a Groove" (George Clinton, Walter Morrison, Garry Shider)“ 7:29
2. "Groovallegiance" (Clinton, Morrison, Bernie Worrell)“ 7:00
3. "Who Says a Funk Band Can't Play Rock?!" (Clinton, Morrison, Michael Hampton)“ 6:18
4. "Promentalshitbackwashpsychosis Enema Squad (The Doo-Doo Chasers)" (Clinton, Shider, Linda Brown)“ 10:45
5. "Into You" (Clinton, Morrison, William Collins)“ 5:41
6. "Cholly (Funk Getting Ready To Roll!)" (Clinton, Morrison, Collins)“ 4:27
7. "Lunchmeatophobia (Think!...It Ain't Illegal Yet!)" (Clinton, Worrell)“ 4:12
8. "P.E. Squad/DooDoo Chasers ('Going All-The-Way Off' Instrumental)" (Clinton, Shider, Brown)“ 4:18
9. "Maggot Brain" (Live) (Clinton, Eddie Hazel)“ 8:28

2000 Japan Remaster Bonus Track:
10. "One Nation Under a Groove" 12" Parts I and II 16:49



cbr 320 kbps


ALL Music

Tired of advertising and pop-ups? Join Now on IsraBox
Register on IsraBox allows you to access to the full resources. You can see torrent links, leave your comments, see hidden text, minimum advertising (no pop-ups), ask for supports and much more.

  • 100
8 voted