Sign Up Now | Log In

Member Login


High Speed Downloads

Funkadelic - Music for Your Mother (1993)
[MP3 Version]

8946 downloads at 13 mb/s

Funkadelic - Music for Your Mother (1993)
[FLAC Version]

9672 downloads at 25 mb/s

Funkadelic - Music for Your Mother (1993)

25-09-2014, 08:43
Soul | Funk | R&B | Rock | FLAC / APE

Funkadelic - Music for Your Mother (1993)

Artist: Funkadelic
Title Of Album: Music for Your Mother
Year Of Release: 1993
Label: Westbound Records / 2WB-CD-1111
Genre: P.Funk, Psychedelic Soul, Rock
Total Time: 1:51:36
Format: Mp3 / FLAC (tracks +.cue, log-file)
Quality: CBR 320 kbps / Lossless
Total Size: 268 mb / 557 mb

If your taste for funk leans to the obscure and the profound, go no further than this retrospective 2 CD set of Funkadelic's singles from their formative days on Detroit's Westbound label. It's basically a compendium of every Funkadelic single and B-side released from 1968-1976. None of these singles nicked the R&B Top 10--in fact, Funkadelic was so far ahead of its time, most of these tracks never charted at radio, but became staples of the group's live show. Sound quality is raw on a program including slices of acid-crazed black psychedelia, including some stellar gems. Original single edits of "Cosmic Slop," "Standing on the Verge of Getting It On," and "Red Hot Mama" will make you long for the extended album versions. Yet as an overview of this groundbreaking band, this is a great place to start. --Tom Vickers

Though Tales of Kidd Funkadelic brought together some oddballs and rarities from Funkadelic's early- to mid-'70s existence, it wasn't until Music for Your Mother came out that there was a full compilation of all the band's singles from birth to the mid-decade switch to Warner Bros. And what a compilation it is: Bringing together some of the band's best material as well as some of its craziest, Music for Your Mother does the business for any self-respecting P-Funk clone. Given that the focus is on A- and B-sides rather than album cuts, it isn't a truly exhaustive overview -- that would require the inclusion of songs like "Maggot Brain" and "Free Your Mind and Your Ass Will Follow," for a start. It's a small quibble in context, though, especially given the inclusion of a number of songs that never made it onto the original eight albums. Most notable is a curious rarity, the semi-smooth soul "I Miss My Baby" single, which was credited to U.S., with music by Funkadelic (U.S. being a group led by eventual P-Funk guitarist Gary Shider). As for the other B-sides and uncollected numbers, they're an understandably mixed but often interesting bunch, including alternate instrumental takes of "Music for Your Mother" and "I Wanna Know if It's Good to You," the unreleased "Can't Shake It Loose" single, the gospel/feedback freakout "Open Our Eyes," and the hilariously titled "Fish, Chips and Sweat." The amazing bonus to the whole collection is the exhaustive 24-page booklet, reviewing the entire early history of Funkadelic via archival photos and a slew of interviews with the surviving participants. Plenty of fun tales are told, but George Clinton didn't participate -- not surprising, given the unflattering picture eventually painted of him -- while the depressing fates of Eddie Hazel and Tawl Ross get deserved attention.


CD 1
01 Music For My Mother
02 Music For My Mother (Instrumental)
03 Cant't Shake It Loose
04 As Good As I Can Feel
05 I'll Bet You
06 Qualify And Satisfy
07 Open Our Eyes
08 I Got A Thing, You Got A Thing, Everybody Got A Thing
09 Fish, Chips And Sweat
10 I Wanna Know If It's Good To You
11 I Wanna Know If It's Good To You (Instrumental)
12 You And Your Folks, Me And My Folks
13 Funky Dollar Bill
14 Can You Get To That
15 Back In Our Minds
16 I Miss My Baby

CD 2
01 Baby I Owe You Something
02 Hit It And Quit It
03 A Whole Lot Of Bs
04 Loose Booty
05 A Joyful Process
06 Cosmic Slop
07 If You Don't Like The Effects, Don't Produce The Cause
08 Standing On The Verge Of Getting It On
09 Jimmy's Got A Little Bit Of Bitch In Him
10 Red Hot Mama
11 Vital Juices
12 Better By The Pound
13 Stuffs And Things
14 Let's Take It To The Stage
15 Biological Speculation
16 Undisco Kidd
17 How Do You Yeaw View You



cbr 320 kbps


ALL Music

Tired of advertising and pop-ups? Join Now on IsraBox
Register on IsraBox allows you to access to the full resources. You can see torrent links, leave your comments, see hidden text, minimum advertising (no pop-ups), ask for supports and much more.

  • 60
5 voted