Sign Up Now | Log In

Member Login


Return to Forever Feat. Chick Corea - Hymn of the Seventh Galaxy (1973) [SHM-CD, Reissue 2011]

18-09-2014, 09:50
Jazz | Rock | FLAC / APE

Return to Forever Feat. Chick Corea - Hymn of the Seventh Galaxy (1973) [SHM-CD, Reissue 2011]

Artist: Return to Forever Feat. Chick Corea
Title Of Album: Hymn of the Seventh Galaxy
Year Of Release: 2011
Label: Universal Music / UCCU-9720
Genre: Jazz, Jazz-Rock, Fusion
Total Time: 42:18 min
Format: Mp3 / FLAC (tracks +.cue, log-file)
Quality: CBR 320 kbps / Lossless
Total Size: 106 mb / 275 mb

The second incarnation of Chick Corea's influential fusion group released only a single record, the magnificent Hymn of the Seventh Galaxy. Featuring a more rock-oriented approach than the Flora Purim-Joe Farrell band that was responsible for both Return to Forever and Light as a Feather, Corea and old standby Stanley Clarke join forces here with propulsive drummer Lenny White and electric guitarist Bill Connors. Although Connors lacks the sophistication of Al Di Meola, the young guitarist who replaced him, he possesses a deliciously raw sound that keeps Corea's heady compositions firmly grounded. White introduces a funk aspect to the music, replacing Airto's Latin grooves from the first two records. Clarke is as good, wrenching some truly frightening sounds out of his electric basses. This increased emphasis on electric instrumentation, also displayed in Corea's heavy use of synthesizers, is another thing that separates this record from the previous Return to Forever releases. And as good as the band performances are, it is the quality of the compositions that marks Hymn of the Seventh Galaxy as an indispensable disc of '70s fusion. "Captain Senor Mouse," one of Corea's finest fusion compositions, receives an excellent treatment here. Likewise, the two-part "Space Circus" is a fantastic mix of haunting and grooving elements, with some simply incredible solos thrown into the mix. With Hymn of the Seventh Galaxy, Corea continues his streak of simply timeless fusion albums. The best of the electric RTF albums.


1. "Hymn of the Seventh Galaxy" (Corea) – 3:31
2. "After the Cosmic Rain" (Clarke) – 8:25
3. "Captain Señor Mouse" (Corea) – 9:01
4. "Theme to the Mothership" (Corea) – 8:49
5. "Space Circus, Pts. 1 & 2" (Corea) – 5:42
6. "The Game Maker" (Corea) – 6:46


:: Lossless ::

Uploaded | Oboom | Xerver

:: CBR 320 kbps ::

Uploaded | Oboom | Xerver

ALL Music

Tired of advertising and pop-ups? Join Now on IsraBox
Register on IsraBox allows you to access to the full resources. You can see torrent links, leave your comments, see hidden text, minimum advertising (no pop-ups), ask for supports and much more.

  • 80
5 voted