Sign Up Now | Log In

Member Login


Mandy More - But That Is Me (1972 2CD Remastered) (2009)

18-09-2014, 05:56
Pop | Rock | FLAC / APE

Mandy More - But That Is Me (1972 2CD Remastered) (2009)

Artist: Mandy More
Title Of Album: But That Is Me
Year Of Release: 1972 (2009)
Label: Sunbeam Records
Genre: Singer Songwriter, Pop Rock, Baroque Pop
Quality: Lossless
Bitrate: FLAC (tracks+.cue)
Total Time: 01:48:54
Total Size: 553 Mb


CD 1:
01. But That Is Me
02. Listen Babe
03. For to Find the Daffodil
04. Fine
05. Harvey Muscletoe
06. Come With Me to Jesus
07. If Not by Fire
08. Alone in My Yellow
09. Matthew Brought Me Flowers
10. If I Smiled on Saturday
11. I'm Too Tall to Cry
12. God Only Knows
Non-LP 45s
13. San Francisco Sam
14. Coffee Cups
15. Every Mother's Child
16. Blue Seasons

CD 2:
01. The Camera Man (Demo)
02. Kind Girl (Demo)
03. But That Is Me (Alt. Take)
04. Listen Babe (Demo)
05. Harvey Muscletoe (Alt. Take)
06. Come With Me to Jesus (Alt. Take)
07. If Not by Fire (Demo)
08. If Not by Fire (Alt. Take 1)
09. If Not by Fire (Alt. Take 2)
10. Alone in My Yellow (Demo)
11. God Only Knows (Alt. Take)
12. Share the Seasons of My Song (Demo)
13. Give Me Your Time (Demo)
14. To Find You Blue (Demo)
15. I Promise I Love You (Demo)
16. San Francisco Sam (Demo)
17. Coffee Cups (Demo)
18. Will You Love Me Tomorrow? (Demo)

Mandy More's sole album from 1972 wasn't specifically destined to become a cult classic, but little surprise that, by the time of its extensive 2010 reissue, gathering together both singles cuts and any number of demo and alternate takes besides the album itself, it gained the stature it now has. At once a mainstream pop release and a strange, unexpected collection of unusual songs, But That Is Me features More, most well-known at the time for her work in stage musicals in the U.K., exploring two covers (counting a then-unreleased version of "Will You Love Me Tomorrow?") but otherwise performing her own songs, shifting gears constantly between delicate, almost fragile moments and sweeping, literally soaring performances. (A classic example can be heard in the shift between the spectacular ending of "Listen Babe" and the miniature, swift "For to Find the Daffodil," almost a medieval ballad.) It's hard to disagree with high-profile fan Bob Stanley's judgment of More and the album as "proto- Kate Bush" given the prominence of piano throughout, often if not always as lead instrument, in combination with More's vocal energy and sometimes pointed lyrics about emotional life. The album's conclusion is a spectacular version of the Beach Boys' "God Only Knows" with an uptempo cowbell and wah-wah arrangement that beats the heck out of too-reverent re-creations by half, but it's "If Not by Fire" that ended up becoming the totem for But That Is Me, thanks to its space-synth squelch below More's treated vocal sounding like a broadcast from across decades -- or the stars -- building to a dramatic, rising/falling/rising chorus each time. The various bonus cuts include a number of singles-only songs like "San Francisco Sam" plus a large amount of alternate takes and demos, including some otherwise unrecorded songs. A vocal and piano-only version of "If Not by Fire" makes for a fine contrast to the baroque beauty of the final take.

Tired of advertising and pop-ups? Join Now on IsraBox
Register on IsraBox allows you to access to the full resources. You can see torrent links, leave your comments, see hidden text, minimum advertising (no pop-ups), ask for supports and much more.

  • 100
1 voted


Users of are not allowed to comment this publication.