Sign Up Now | Log In

Member Login


VA - Worth The Weight Vol. 2: From The Edge (2014)

VA - Worth The Weight Vol. 2: From The Edge (2014)

Artist: VA
Title Of Album: Worth The Weight Vol. 2: From The Edge
Year Of Release: 2014
Label: Punch Drunk Records
Genre: Electronic, Bass, Dubstep, UK Garage, House, Techno
Quality: 320 Kbps
Total Time: 69:01 min
Total Size: 158 MB


01. Hodge – Resolve (5:39)
02. Tessela – Channel (5:44)
03. Kahn – Helter Skelter (3:51)
04. Andy Mac – Asteroid Belts (5:52)
05. Peverelist – Roll With The Punches (Kowton Linear mix) (6:29)
06. Zhou – I Remain (5:18)
07. Kahn – Tehran (4:25)
08. Zhou – Locust Dub (3:57)
09. Bass Clef – Stenaline Metranil Solar Flare (Peverelist mix) (5:55)
10. Ekoplekz – Vanishing Land (Intro) (1:01)
11. Peverelist & Hodge – Bells (Dream Sequence) (8:45)
12. Bass Clef – A Rail Is A Road & A Road Is A River (12:05)

Punch Drunk Records presents the 2nd chapter in its Worth the Weight CD compilation series, selected once again by Peverelist.

Since launching in 2006 with a vision of documenting Bristol’s burgeoning and idiosyncratic reaction to dubstep, Punch Drunk has become a byword for quality and daring. The label has become a tastemaker in its own right, defining an era within the city’s rich musical heritage. The last eight years has seen Punch Drunk release bonafide classics from artists developed, encouraged and debuted by the label; some of whom have gone on to become internationally recognised artists.

The corner stones of Dubloaded, a club event that Pinch ran in conjunction with Peverelist, and Rooted Records, the record store managed by Peverelist, provided an era of fertile ground for local artists such as Headhunter, Appleblim, RSD and Joker. The first edition of Worth the Weight, featuring these artists and more, was released in 2010 and selected tracks from the first 4 years of the Bristol dubstep explosion.

After the wider dubstep scene went overground, moving away from its original roots and context, the Bristol scene recalibrated and reflected on those dynamic first few years. Peverelist was keen to keep the Punch Drunk momentum heading in a direction of mutation and innovation true to its original manifesto, unique to and reflective of Bristol.

Worth the Weight Volume 2 represents that second era, when a new school of Bristol artists were beginning to emerge. Many of them found their first releases at Punch Drunk and are featured on this compilation. Kahn’s first two 12”s for the label were a dichotomy of colourful swung rhythms and heads down, deep and dark sound system music. Ekoplekz released two LPs for the label drawing influence from Cabaret Voltaire via King Tubby, defining his own plane of dystopian dub. Zhou, a duo from the city’s Young Echo collective, released two 12”s mastering their own esoteric perspective on heavyweight UK Dub grooves. Andy Mac’s UK house variants brought the funk and bounce back to Bristol’s clubs, whilst Tessela’s pounding percussion tracks rained down relentlessly on dancefloors. Bass Clef’s recent masterful and acclaimed psychedelic voyage through techno on his Reeling Skullways LP is represented alongside rising star Hodge whose Resolve 12” is surely a highlight of the labels catalogue.

This new compilation provides a perfect snapshot of a city in constant flux, seen through the eyes of a label with a unique perspective on its surroundings. Punch Drunk has always operated from the periphery, sticking to its guns and staying true to its raison d’être. So here we are, 2014, Worth The Weight, selector please, From The Edge…

Tired of advertising and pop-ups? Join Now on IsraBox
Register on IsraBox allows you to access to the full resources. You can see torrent links, leave your comments, see hidden text, minimum advertising (no pop-ups), ask for supports and much more.

  • 0
0 voted


Users of are not allowed to comment this publication.