Sign Up Now | Log In

Member Login


VA - More Lost Soul Gems from Sounds of Memphis (2014)

10-09-2014, 02:43
Soul | Funk | R&B

VA - More Lost Soul Gems from Sounds of Memphis (2014)

Artist: Various Artists
Title Of Album: 2014
Year Of Release: 2014
Label: Simply Grand Music, Inc.
Genre: 60s Soul, Funk, RnB
Quality: Mp3, 320 kbps
Total Time: 00:58:20
Total Size: 138 Mb


01. Marjorie Ingram - Tempted
02. George Jackson - Hold On Hold Out
03. William Bollinger - That's Why I Keep Her
04. Rudolph Taylor - One's Man's Poison
05. Barbara & The Browns - Human Emotions
06. Carroll Lloyd - A Great Big Thing
07. Rudolph Taylor - Search Your Heart
08. Barry Jones - That's How I Take To You
09. Fran Farley - I Care For You
10. Billy Cee & The Freedom Express - Don't Matter If It's In The Past
11. Art Jerry Miller - You Can Always Depend On Me
12. The Jacksonians - If I Could Build My World
13. Donald O'connor - You Don't Understand Me
14. The Vision - Lost In A Dream
15. Fran Farley - Memphis Funk
16. Willie Cobb - Hey Little Girl
17. Tommy Raye - You Don't Love Me
18. Rudolph Taylor - You're Using Me
19. Ann Hodge - Your Own Free Will
20. Carroll Lloyd - Poor Side Of Town

On a recent trip to Memphis I spent some time talking with Linda Lucchesi, the custodian of her late father’s music catalogue. We talked about Memphis in the 1960s, prompted by a picture of her as teenager with pianist Bobby Wood during his short period as a Bobby Vinton-style singing star. She related stories of seeing garage bands and soul acts around town and of hearing Barbara & the Browns up close and in person. It sparked a lifelong love of music which sees her involved to this day searching out new talent as well as working on our reissues of XL and Sounds Of Memphis material. In recent years Linda has found many unissued recordings, which have formed the foundation of our “Lost Soul gems” series.
The recordings featured on this latest volume, made between 1964 and 1974, show the development of soul inMemphis. Sad to say, the tracks by Barbara Brown and William Bollinger are probably their last to be uncovered. They are joined by three cuts by Rudolph Taylor, a man who only ever released one single when he was an active artist. There are also previously undiscovered numbers by George Jackson and Dan Greer, as well as new finds from Vision and the Jacksonians, who have graced our compilations several times before. Marjorie Ingram opens the comp with the sister-funk dancer ‘Tempted’ from her Dan Greer-produced session at Sounds Of Memphis Studios. My favourites of the unreleased 70s tracks are those by Fran Farley and the gospel soul of Donald O’Connor, who I hope will also feature on future volumes.
Of the previously released sides, Tommy Raye’s version of ‘You Don’t Love Me’ was the first single on XL, while that song’s writer Willie Cobbs’ ‘Hey Little Girl’ was an early 70s 45 and the little-known Carroll Taylor’s version of ‘A Great Big Thing’ is a prime example of 1960s Memphis soul.

Tired of advertising and pop-ups? Join Now on IsraBox
Register on IsraBox allows you to access to the full resources. You can see torrent links, leave your comments, see hidden text, minimum advertising (no pop-ups), ask for supports and much more.

  • 60
4 voted


Users of are not allowed to comment this publication.