Sign Up Now | Log In

Member Login


Cut Copy - Free Your Mind [Deluxe Edition] (2014)

3-09-2014, 13:43
Pop | Indie | Electronic | FLAC / APE

Cut Copy - Free Your Mind [Deluxe Edition] (2014)

Artist: Cut Copy
Title Of Album: Free Your Mind
Year Of Release: 2014
Label: Modular Records
Genre: Synthpop, Indietronica
Total Time: 1:12:28
Format: Mp3 / FLAC (tracks)
Quality: CBR 320 kbps / Lossless
Total Size: 174 mb / 556 mb

After the release of their icy and heavily '80s-inspired In Ghost Colours in 2008, Cut Copy warmed up and expanded their sound to the point where they almost seem like a completely different band. 2011's Zonoscope was almost excessively bright and extroverted, with songs like "Where I'm Going" sounding like Jock Jams in comparison to the introspectively moody sound the band had previously established. Their 2013 album, Free Your Mind, is even bigger sounding and warmer. Taking tons of inspiration from the late-'80s and early-'90s club scene in the U.K. and touching on everything from the Hacienda-ready acid house to the thumping piano house of groups like Black Box, the album is a danceable love letter to the era. Almost every move the group makes is instantly familiar to anyone with any interest in that time period, but the band add more than enough of their own personality, as well as advanced skill at mixing and matching moods and feels, to keep it from being an empty exercise in nostalgia. Call it a full exercise instead. Influences and inspirations aside, what makes the album work is the sense of joy and upbeat emotion that the band, and especially vocalist Dan Whitford, inject into every nook of every song. Starting off with "Free Your Mind," a bongo and gospel backing vocal-filled empowerment jam so soft and fuzzy that even Primal Scream at their most "Come Together" dippy might find a bit much, and going from there, the record is light as a shiny helium balloon and filled with percolating house trax that should fill dancefloors (like the very Pet Shop Boys-sounding "Footsteps"), higher-than-the-sun electro-pop ("Dark Corners and Mountain Tops," which is like ELO gone full disco, "Take Me Higher"), and slowly grooving songs that are perfect fodder for late-night revelry (the K-Klass sampling "Let Me Show You Love"). Cut Copy may have left behind the monochromatic brilliance of their early work, but the explosion of colors they've added, like Jackson Pollock on a bender, has only made their growth more interesting and enriching. [During the summer of 2014, which saw them playing every festival with a stage and electricity, the band reissued the album with five new tracks added, three of them previously unreleased and two (“In These Arms of Love” and “Like Any Other Day”) that had been already issued as a Record Store Day single.]


01. Intro (0:20)
02. Free Your Mind (4:57)
03. We Are Explorers (4:18)
04. Let Me Show You Love (5:56)
05. (into the desert) (1:28)
06. Footsteps (4:42)
07. In Memory Capsule (4:40)
08. (above the city) (0:32)
09. Dark Corners & Mountain Tops (5:07)
10. Meet Me In A House Of Love (6:09)
11. Take Me Higher (5:52)
12. (the waves) (0:45)
13. Walking In The Sky (3:31)
14. Mantra (2:15)

2014 Deluxe Edition:
15. Believers (4:34)
16. Like Any Other Day (5:17)
17. Lights Shine On (4:09)
18. I Wish The Sun Would Grow Today (3:34)
19. In These Arms Of Love (4:22)



Uploaded | Oboom | Xerver | RapidGator

:: CBR 320 kbps ::

Uploaded | Oboom | Xerver | RapidGator

ALL Music

Tired of advertising and pop-ups? Join Now on IsraBox
Register on IsraBox allows you to access to the full resources. You can see torrent links, leave your comments, see hidden text, minimum advertising (no pop-ups), ask for supports and much more.

  • 100
3 voted