Sign Up Now | Log In

Member Login


Scruffy the Cat - Time Never Forgets: The Anthology (’86-’88) (2014)

3-09-2014, 12:05
Music | Pop | Rock | Punk | FLAC / APE

Scruffy the Cat - Time Never Forgets: The Anthology (’86-’88) (2014)

Artist: Scruffy the Cat
Title Of Album: Time Never Forgets: The Anthology (’86-’88)
Year Of Release: August 15, 2014
Label: Relativity/Legacy
Genre: Rock, Pop, Cowpunk
Quality: MP3 | FLAC (tracks)
Bitrate: 320 kbps | lossless
Total Time: 118:17 Min
Total Size: ~265 Mb |~787 Mb
WebSite: amazon


101. 40 Days & 40 Nights (02:51)
102. Land of 1000 Girls (03:18)
103. Life Is Fun (03:27)
104. Tiger, Tiger (02:28)
105. Buy a Car (03:39)
106. Happiness to Go! (02:38)
107. Mybabyshe'sallright (02:46)
108. Shadow Boy (03:08)
109. Upside Down (02:57)
110. Time Never Forgets (02:55)
111. Thomas Doubter (02:57)
112. Never, Never (03:41)
113. Hello Angel (04:29)
114. Momma Killed Hate (03:41)
115. When Your Ship Comes In (03:22)
116. My Fate Was Sealed with a Kiss (03:00)
117. Tiny Days (02:01)

201. You Dirty Rat (03:32)
202. Blue Russian (03:53)
203. Shadow Boy (Live) (03:07)
204. Runaway (Live) (02:35)
205. Happiness to Go! (Live) (03:47)
206. Capital Moonlight (02:51)
207. Bus Named Desire (03:58)
208. Betty Drops In (03:08)
209. I Do (02:13)
210. Beg, Borrow and Steal (03:54)
211. Nova SS 1968 (01:47)
212. Kissing Galaxy (02:47)
213. Bucknaked (01:50)
214. Moons of Jupiter (02:32)
215. Love So Amazing (03:09)
216. Places (03:11)
217. One Bad Apple (02:49)
218. Just Like Cathy's Clown (03:19)
219. Everything (02:52)
220. 2Day 2Morrow 4Ever (04:20)
221. Keith's Lament (03:04)

As easy as it is to get caught up in cheap nostalgia, there really was a golden time in power pop, reflected by the titular years of this all-inclusive compilation from one of Boston’s most beloved combos of the era.
Scruffy the Cat was a quintet fronted by the late Charlie Chesterman who wrote, played guitar and sang lead on the majority of the band’s material. All the group’s officially released 38 songs (two full albums, 2 EPs) are here, sounding better than anyone remembers in remastered form. These tunes jump out of the speakers with more jittery energy than a dozen cups of cappuccino. Musically it’s a combination of early Elvis Costello and the Attractions with a touch of Jason & the Scorchers’ tough country punk and the American…

…jangle of the Byrds. But if a tune as crackling, hooky and instantly memorable as “Mybabyshe’sallright” couldn’t get national airplay, it’s no surprise the rest of the group’s impressive catalog suffered a similar fate due to the usual tale of poor promotion and bad breaks.
Chesterman’s vibrant twangy vocals are instantly recognizable, the production is appropriately minimalist and the nervy songs buzz with the barely contained vitality that only youth can bring. Whether they are borrowing the riff from Sly & the Family Stone’s “I Want to Take You Higher” for the opening of “Bus Named Desire,” digging into a Bo Diddley beat on “Shadow Boy,” ripping off a frenzied version of Del Shannon’s “Runaway” or tearing into their own garage rockabilly of “Mama Killed Hate,” there are amazingly few clunkers here. Certainly legendary producer Jim Dickinson (the Replacements, Stones, Dylan), who helmed the boards for the group’s second and final album, knew quality when he heard it.
For better or worse, Legacy hedged their bets by releasing this as a digital download only (no physical CD) with the barest of liner notes. While that probably was the motivating factor in this disc’s existence, it does limit the audience. So it seems, even given a rare second chance, Scruffy the Cat gets shortchanged. But don’t let that dissuade you from searching out the still surprisingly fresh music of one of the finest under-the-radar acts of their time.

Tired of advertising and pop-ups? Join Now on IsraBox
Register on IsraBox allows you to access to the full resources. You can see torrent links, leave your comments, see hidden text, minimum advertising (no pop-ups), ask for supports and much more.

  • 0
0 voted


Users of are not allowed to comment this publication.