Sign Up Now | Log In

Member Login


Masaaki Suzuki - J.S. Bach: Easter & Ascension Oratorios (2006) {SACD}

31-08-2014, 18:12
Music | Classical Music | FLAC / APE

Masaaki Suzuki - J.S. Bach: Easter & Ascension Oratorios (2006) {SACD}

Artist: Masaaki Suzuki
Title Of Album: J.S. Bach: Easter & Ascension Oratorios
Year Of Release: 2006
Label: BIS
Genre: Jazz, Vocal Jazz
Format: Super Audio CD
Quality: DSD 2.0; 5.0, Image (ISO)
Bitrate: 2.8224 MHz
Time: 01:08:57 min
Size: 3,25 Gb
WWW: amazon

Johann Sebastian Bach's oratorios for Easter (BWV 249) and Ascension (BWV 11) are essentially cantatas writ large, featuring the same alteration of solo and choral movements. The Bach Collegium Japan and conductor Masaaki Suzuki have won acclaim for their series of Bach cantatas on BIS, and if you enjoy those recordings, this one may be of interest.
The Easter Oratorio "Kommt, eilet und laufet" opens with two instrumental movements, a sinfonia and an adagio, before the voices enter. There are some catchy melodies in the first movements, but the work too quickly settles into a sedate mood and continues that way for what seems like forever. The Easter Oratorio is 41 minutes long in this recording, and I have little desire to repeat the experience.
I much prefer the Ascension Oratorio "Lobet Gott in seinen Reichen", which has some powerful moments that I had never before encountered in Bach's music outside the Mass in B Minor. The opening movement is one of the most lovely mixture of voices in Bach's music. The fourth movement, an aria for alto on "Ach, bleibe doch, mein liebstes Liebe", is especially elegant and memorable. The final chorale gains an especial grandeur from timpani and a close partnership between strings and winds.

Masaaki Suzuki - J.S. Bach: Easter & Ascension Oratorios (2006) {SACD}
Easter Oratorio. Kommt, eilet und laufet, BWV 249
1. I. Sinfonia 4:07
2. II. Adagio 3:28
3. III. Chorus - Kommt, eilet und laufet 4:57
4. IV. Recitativo (soprano, alto, tenore, basso) - O kalter Männer Sinn!... 0:57
5. V. Aria (soprano) - Seele, deine Spezereien... 11:27
6. VI. Recitativo (alto, tenore, basso) - Hier ist die Gruft... 0:40
7. VII. Aria (tenore) - Sanfte soll mein Todeskummer... 6:15
8. VIII. Recitativo (soprano, alto) - Indessen seufzen wir... 0:54
9. IX. Aria (alto) - Saget, saget mir geschwinde... 5:55
10. X. Recitativo (basso) - Wir sind erfreut... 0:35
11. XI. Chorus - Preis und Dank... 2:16

Ascension Oratorio. Lobet Gott in seinen Reichen, BWV 11
12. I. Chorus - Lobet Gott in seinen Reichen 4:35
13. II. Recitativo (tenore) - Der Herr Jesus hub seine Hände auf... 0:29
14. III. Recitativo (basso) - Ach, Jesu, ist dein Abschied schon so nah?... 1:01
15. IV. Aria (alto) - Ach, bleibe doch, mein liebstes Leben... 7:13
16. V. Recitativo (tenore) - Und ward aufgehaben zusehends... 0:28
17. VI. Choral - Nun liget alles unter dir... 1:09
18. VII. Recitativo (tenore, basso) - Und da sie ihm nachsahen... Recitativo (alto) - Ach ja! so komme bald zurück... Recitativo (tenore) - Sie aber beteten ihn an... 2:12
19. VIII. Aria (soprano)- Jesu, deine Gnadenblicke... 6:27
20. IX. Choral - Wenn soll es doch geschehen... 3:52

Tired of advertising and pop-ups? Join Now on IsraBox
Register on IsraBox allows you to access to the full resources. You can see torrent links, leave your comments, see hidden text, minimum advertising (no pop-ups), ask for supports and much more.

  • 100
2 voted