Sign Up Now | Log In

Member Login


Sonny Rollins - Copenhagen Jazz Festival (1965)

30-08-2014, 08:56

Sonny Rollins - Copenhagen Jazz Festival (1965)

Artist: Sonny Rollins
Title Of Album:Copenhagen Live'65
Year Of Release:October 31, 1965
Label: Revox
Genre:Jazz, Post Bop
Quality: Mp3
Bitrate: 320 Kbps
Total Time: 57 min.
Total Size: 75.67 MB

The show opens with an up-tempo take of “There Will Never Be Another You.” First performed by the Woody Herman band in 1942 and brought into modern jazz repertory by the likes of Wynton Kelly and Stan Getz, this version is, at 11 ½ minutes, the shortest of the three tunes Rollins performs.

In typical fashion, Rollins is locked in a private dance. He steps and sways with his tenor, pushing it side to side, up and back, as his eyes seem to search for a point of focus. Given his propensity to intermittently wander away from the designated microphone, two more were wisely placed on either side to catch all of Rollins’ playing. At times, he tilts his head to the side, suggesting the preferred soloing stance of Lester Young, an early and primary influence.

Rollins with shaved head and in dapper turtleneck and jacket is one of his most memorable looks; the flow of his delivery one of his most recognizable assets. Ideas keep pouring from his saxophone—runs, melodic snippets—at a tireless rate, not too fast to be noticed and enjoyed. Is he already soloing on “There Will Never Be…” or is Rollins still in the “head” of the tune, stating its theme? It could be either, given the freedom with which he shifts from, yet returns to the song’s signature melody.

At a surprisingly early point in the set, 2 ½ minutes in, Rollins retreats from the microphone, inviting a bass solo. It’s a gesture of confidence in the young Pedersen, an opportunity the bassist fills with a warm, steady tone and agility beyond his years. Rollins gently prods him, blowing rhythmically, before taking a seat and acquainting himself with the bassist’s way of expression.

Two minutes later, Pedersen begins to conclude his improvisation as Rollins teases his way back in, trading fours with Dawson. A brief restatement of the melody on the saxophone precedes a spry, bouncing solo from Dawson, with much two-handed snare play. He eventually focuses on a pattern on the hi-hat, and Rollins steps up to bring the tune home, using body English to signal what seems to be the final downbeat, but Rollins immediately tacks on another hallmark of his live sets: an a cappella cadenza, this one a loose collection of riffs. The tune ends to unseen applause with the audience behind a wall of blackness as all lights are trained on the trio.
Ashley Kahn


1. Intro 00:39
2. There´ll Never Be Another You 11:34
3. St. Thomas 12:40
4. Oleo 13:01
5. Darn That Dream 12:04
6. Three Little Words 7:03
7. Outro 00:23


Sonny Rollins - tenor sax
Niels Henning Ørsted Pedersen - bass
Alan Dawson - drums

Tired of advertising and pop-ups? Join Now on IsraBox
Register on IsraBox allows you to access to the full resources. You can see torrent links, leave your comments, see hidden text, minimum advertising (no pop-ups), ask for supports and much more.

  • 0
0 voted


Users of are not allowed to comment this publication.