Sign Up Now | Log In

Member Login


Maps - Turning the Mind (Deluxe Edition) (2014)

25-08-2014, 16:26
Pop | Indie | Electronic | FLAC / APE

Maps - Turning the Mind (Deluxe Edition) (2014)

Artist: Maps
Title Of Album: Turning the Mind
Year Of Release: 2014
Label: Mute
Genre: Electronic, Indie, Dreampop
Quality: 320 / FLAC
Total Time: 109:32 min
Total Size: 251 / 785 MB


01 Turning The Mind
02 I Dream Of Crystal
03 Let Go Of The Fear
04 Valium In The Sunshine
05 Papercuts
06 Love Will Come
07 Everything Is Shattering
08 Nothing
09 The Note (These Voices)
10 Chemeleon
11 Die Happy, Die Smiling
12 Without You
13 Die Happy, Die Smiling ( A Place To Bury Strangers Remix)
14 Nothing (Demo)
15 I Dream Of Crystal (Solo Remix)
16 Keep Calm, Carry On (Demo)
17 Love Will Come (Paul Woolford Anti-Gravity Psych Mix)
18 From Here's To Bliss
19 Die Happy, Die Smiling (Subscape Remix)
20 Shoot Yr Gun (Demo)
21 Love Will Come (Bomb The Bass Remix)

**Deluxe edition featuring remixes from Paul Woolford, A Place To Bury Strangers, Bomb The Bass and bonus demos.** Turning The Mind is paradoxically a darker yet more extroverted and musically flamboyant follow up to Maps' Mercury-nominated debut, We Can Create. Reportedly, throughout the making of that record James Chapman was heavily involved in drug use, and Turning The Mind arrives as a return to sobriety. Lyrically, this is a far more explicitly personal affair than Chapman's debut, although that confessional introspection is partnered with wall-of-sound synthesizer usage. The bombastic electropop formula is rather a strange one when you think about it; it makes a certain amount of sense for guitar bands to have U2-sized stadium rock ambitions, but for an erstwhile bedroom producer who stands behind a bank of flashing LEDs this all seems a bit peculiar - particularly given the unassuming timbre of Chapman's vocals. As with the debut, elements of Ulrich Schnauss-style grandiosity abound, but the more shoegazing aspects have been largely abandoned in favour of Coldplay-meets-Pet Shop Boys tendencies, as vented on 'Valium In The Sunshine' and 'I Dream Of Crystal'.

Tired of advertising and pop-ups? Join Now on IsraBox
Register on IsraBox allows you to access to the full resources. You can see torrent links, leave your comments, see hidden text, minimum advertising (no pop-ups), ask for supports and much more.

  • 100
3 voted


Users of are not allowed to comment this publication.