Sign Up Now | Log In

Member Login


The Pioneers - Let Your Yeah Be Yeah: Anthology 1966-1986 (2001)

25-08-2014, 16:24
Music | Reggae | World | FLAC / APE

The Pioneers - Let Your Yeah Be Yeah: Anthology 1966-1986 (2001)

Artist: The Pioneers
Title Of Album: Let Your Yeah Be Yeah: Anthology 1966-1986
Year Of Release: 2001
Label: Trojan / CDTRD 454
Genre: Reggae, Ska, Rocksteady
Total Time: 2:28:49
Format: Mp3 / FLAC (tracks +.cue, log-file)
Quality: CBR 320 kbps / Lossless
Total Size: 370 mb / 755 mb

The Pioneers - Let Your Yeah Be Yeah: Anthology 1966-1986 (2001)

The Pioneers are legends of the rocksteady era, known primarily to those outside of Jamaica for their hugely influential hit song, "Longshot Kick de Bucket," which was covered most famously by the Specials. A version of their equally fine "Let Your Yeah Be Yeah" was a highlight of UB40 vocalist Ali Campbell's solo album. Apart from those two songs, however, The Pioneers' great popularity in Jamaica (and, to a somewhat lesser degree, the U.K.) never spread far abroad; they have remained a specialized interest, though they still command deep respect in the reggae community. This anthology offers 54 tracks, about as much as most listeners could ever need, and includes multiple takes on the "Longshot" rhythm as well as such less-renowned fare as "No Dope Me Pony" (continuing "Longshot's winning horse-race theme), the brilliant "Samfie Man," and an ill-advised adaptation of "Papa Was a Rolling Stone." For novelty value, you can't beat "I'm Gonna Knock on Your Door," which features both bluegrass banjo and orchestral strings. As one would expect, the early tracks are marred by seriously subpar sound quality. However, the later material offers both high-quality production and harmony vocals that have matured into the kind of creamy perfection that only comes from ten to 15 years of experience -- as well as poppy arrangements that will annoy purists. Recommended.


Disc One:
1- Doreen Girl
2- Good Nannie
3- Never Come Running Back
4- Whip Them
5- (Some Of) Them A Brawl
6- Shake It Up
7- Give Me A Little Loving
8- Longshot
9- Jackpot
10- Dip and Fall Back
11- No Dope Me Pony
12- Catch The Beat
13- Me Naw Go A Believe
14- Na Na (as Johnny Melody & The Slickers)
15- Miss Eva
16- Don't You Know
17- Ali Button
18- Who The Cap Fits
19- Easy Come Easy Go
20- Pee Wee Cluck Cluck
21- Long Shot Kick De Bucket
22- Black Bud
23- Poor Rameses
24- Samfie Man
25- Driven Back
26- Simmer Down Quashie
27- Battle Of The Giants
28- Starvation
29- Get Ready (Yeah)

Disc Two:
1- I Need Your Sweet Inspiration
2- Let Your Yeah Be Yeah
3- Give & Take
4- Message To Maria
5- Let It All Hang Out
6- You Don't Know Like I Know
7- Roll Muddy River
8- Come On Over To My Place
9- The World Needs Love
10- Time Hard
11- I Believe In Love
12- At The Discoteque
13- At The Club
14- Papa Was A Rolling Stone
15- Pony Express
16- Keep Your Mouth Shut
17- A Little Bit Of Soap
18- I'm Gonna Knock On Your Door
19- Jamaica Jerk Off
20- My Special Prayer
21- Feeling High
22- Bust Them Shout
23- Pusher Man
24- Them a Wolf
25- My Woman

Tired of advertising and pop-ups? Join Now on IsraBox
Register on IsraBox allows you to access to the full resources. You can see torrent links, leave your comments, see hidden text, minimum advertising (no pop-ups), ask for supports and much more.

  • 100
2 voted