Sign Up Now | Log In

Member Login


VA - Eddie's House Of Hits the Story Of Goldband Records (2012)

19-08-2014, 14:38
Jazz | Blues | Pop

VA - Eddie's House Of Hits the Story Of Goldband Records (2012)

Artist: VA
Title Of Album: Eddie's House Of Hits the Story Of Goldband Records
Year Of Release: 2012
Label: Ace Records
Genre: Blues, Pop, Swing
Quality: Mp3
Bitrate: 320 kbps
Total Time: 00:52:35
Total Size: 135 Mb


01 - Phil Phillips - Stormy Weather [00:02:30]
02 - Juke Boy Bonner - Let's Boogie [00:02:13]
03 - Cleveland Crochet And Band - Sugar Bee [00:02:29]
04 - Al Ferrier - Let's Go Bopping Tonight [00:02:14]
05 - Guitar Junior - The Crawl [00:02:14]
06 - Johnny Duhon And The Yellow Jackets - So What [00:02:42]
07 - Gene Terry And The Down Beats - Cindy Lou [00:02:05]
08 - Charles Perrywell - You're Lonesome Now [00:02:26]
09 - Danny James - Boogie In The Mud [00:02:36]
10 - Guitar Junior - Goin' Crazy Baby [00:02:00]
11 - Ashton Savoy - Rooster Strut [00:02:14]
12 - Rockin' Sidney - No Future [00:02:26]
13 - Pee Wee Kershaw - You're So Fine [00:02:05]
14 - Danny James - Frosty [00:02:02]
15 - Big Walter Price - San Antonio [00:01:59]
16 - Jimmy Wilson - Please Accept My Love [00:02:48]
17 - Cookie And The Cupcakes - Blue Bayou Shuffle [00:02:29]
18 - Sticks Herman - Teenage Baby [00:02:15]
19 - Elton Anderson - Secret Of Love [00:02:21]
20 - Hop Wilson & His Buddies - Chicken Stuff [00:02:14]
21 - Gene Terry - Teardrops In My Eyes [00:02:09]
22 - Dolly Parton - Puppy Love [00:01:36]
23 - Phil Phillips - Don't Leave Me [00:02:18]

Ace Records is proud to announce the addition of the legendary Goldband label to its catalogue and launches the relationship with this CD subtitled Eddie's House Of Hits, a retrospective album covering the immensely varied output of Eddie Shuler's Louisiana company. Operating out of Lake Charles, Shuler has been involved with the music business since 1940, initially running Eddie's Music House Store and playing in the hillbilly band The Reveliers. In 1949 he formed Folk Star Records and put out recording by the great cajun artist lry LeJune. In 1952 he set up Goldband Records which, to this day, continues to be a bastion for the musics of downhome Louisiana His biggest hits for Goldband are here - Cleveland Crochet's cajun-rocker Sugar Bee (it charted a No 80 on Billboard's Hot 100 in 1961) and Elton Andersen's swamp-pop ballad Secret of Love (No 88 in 1960) - but, musically, of as much interest are the regional hits and near misses. Guitar Jnr's The Crawl (later remade by The Fabulous Thunderbirds), Paper In My Shoe by Boozoo Chavis and Boogie In The Mud by Danny James (who, elsewhere on the set, boldly tackles Albert Collins' Frosty). Jimmy Wilson's Please Accept My Love (later recorded by B B King) is also here, as is the 1959 outing Puppy Love by the very young Dolly Parton. Gene Terry tears it up on the wild rocker Cindy Lou and Rockin Sidney (of My Toot Toot fame) wails the blues on No Future. Cookie & The Cupcakes play swamp pop on the Blue Bayou Shuffle, Ashton Savoy do the Rooster Strut and Pee Wee Kershaw (sounds like Lancashire's answer to the blues but it is actually Doug Kershaw's brother) delivers You're So Fine in his own inimitable cajun-rock style. Cult blues names like Hop Wilson and Juke Boy Bonner belt out Chicken Stuff and Let's Boogie but special mention is reserved for Al Ferrier's rockabilly classic Lets Go Boppin' Tonight which was rescued from the original tape almost on the point of disintegration during the copying stage. The album closes with Phil Phillips' Don't Leave Me and that's just what you won't want to do with this excellent introductory "Story of Goldband Records".

Tired of advertising and pop-ups? Join Now on IsraBox
Register on IsraBox allows you to access to the full resources. You can see torrent links, leave your comments, see hidden text, minimum advertising (no pop-ups), ask for supports and much more.

  • 100
2 voted


Users of are not allowed to comment this publication.