Sign Up Now | Log In

Member Login


George Lewis With Kid Shots - George Lewis With Kid Shots (1990) 320 kbps

12-08-2014, 07:20
Music | Jazz

George Lewis With Kid Shots - George Lewis With Kid Shots (1990) 320 kbps

Artist: George Lewis With Kid Shots
Title Of Album: George Lewis With Kid Shots
Year Of Release: 1990
Label: American Music Records
Genre: Jazz, New Orleans Jazz
Format: MP3
Quality: 320 kbps
Total Time: 62:00
Total Size: 146 MB(+3%)


1. High Society 2 (4:33)
2. Gloryland 1 (3:50)
3. Burgundy Street Blues (TRIO) (3:15)
4. Bucket's Got A Hole (4:01)
5. Ice Cream (without Tpt.) (4:04)
6. San Jacinto Blues (without Tpt.) (4:77
7. Sheik Of Araby (3:59)
8. Dumaine Street Drag (4:36)
9. When You & I Were Young Maggie (4:31)
10. San Jacinto Stomp (4:05)
11. Everybody Loves My Baby (4:34)
12. Baby, Please Come Home (3:44)
13. Clarinet Marmalade (4:07)
14. Sister Kate** ( (3:33)
15. Shake It & Break It (5:23)

Although this music is historic, it is quite erratic. George Lewis was one of the top New Orleans clarinetists when he was on but during most of these titles he is noticeably out-of-tune. Trumpeter Louis "Kid Shots" Madison is also quite streaky and, although trombonist Jim Robinson is consistent and the pianoless rhythm section (banjoist Lawrence Marrero, bassist Alcide "Slow Drag" Pavageau and drummer Baby Dodds) is solid, the weak frontline sinks this effort even with the inclusion of the earliest version of "Burgundy Street Blues." The CD concludes with three obscure performances by the same group with Bunk Johnson on trumpet; this version of "Sister Kate" was previously unissued. But there are many more rewarding George Lewis performances to be found elsewhere. ~ Scott Yanow

Tired of advertising and pop-ups? Join Now on IsraBox
Register on IsraBox allows you to access to the full resources. You can see torrent links, leave your comments, see hidden text, minimum advertising (no pop-ups), ask for supports and much more.

  • 80
3 voted


Users of are not allowed to comment this publication.