Sign Up Now | Log In

Member Login


High Speed Downloads

VA - Double Shot Of Soul (2004)
[MP3 Version]

8946 downloads at 13 mb/s

VA - Double Shot Of Soul (2004)
[FLAC Version]

9672 downloads at 25 mb/s

VA - Double Shot Of Soul (2004)

9-08-2014, 14:38
Soul | Funk | R&B | Pop | Oldies | FLAC / APE

VA - Double Shot Of Soul (2004)

Artist: Various Artists
Title Of Album: Double Shot Of Soul
Year Of Release: 2004
Label: Kent Records / CDKEND238
Genre: Soul, Funk, Rhythm & Blues, Northern Soul
Total Time: 1:13:29
Format: Mp3 / FLAC (tracks +.cue, log-file)
Quality: CBR 320 kbps / Lossless
Total Size: 176 mb / 369 mb

VA - Double Shot Of Soul (2004)

Double Shot Of Soul is the first ever collection dedicated to the R&B and soul output of one of Los Angeles’ best-known indies in the late 1960s, Double Shot. Though the label hit paydirt with the 1966 garage rock hit ‘Psychotic Reaction’ by Count Five, the bulk of their catalogue was in fact soulful in nature. Double Shot’s other big act was Brenton Wood, and his success with hits such as ‘Gimme Little Sign’ drew mostly black acts to the company. Producers Hal Winn and Joe Hooven were veteran songwriters with a keenly honed sense of the commercial, which meant that, despite a lack of success for most of their artists, the material and production values were always strong and the quality of releases high. With the release schedule centering on the late 1960s, much of the material, from artists including Kent & The Candidates, Foxy and the Real Thing, has an appealing funky edge. Major artists on Double Shot, and its Whiz subsidiary, included Bobby Freeman and Shirley (of Shirley and Lee). The Invincibles and the Georgia Prophets are well known to soul collectors for their work on other labels. The Bagdads were a highly-regarded vocal outfit led by the late Ken Sinclair. Many tracks feature the songwriting and production prowess of Maurice Rodgers, the label’s in-house R&B staffer. Virtually everything on Double Shot Of Soul is making its debut on compact disc. Additionally, meticulous tape research through the labels vaults has thrown up superlative unissued material. Label owner Hal Winn and some of the acts, including Bobby Freeman, contribute to an extensive liner note that details the history of this interesting and little-heralded soulful outfit.


1. Trouble - Foxy
2. Four Piece Funky, Nitty Gritty Junky Band - Bobby Freeman
3. Push Me Baby - The Bagdads
4. Loving You Is Killing Me - The Georgia Prophets
5. Can You Stand The Pressure - Bobby Freeman
6. Coming In Out Of The Rain - Maurice Rodgers
7. The Neck - Kent & The Candidates
8. Gotta Keep On - Louise Whitney
9. The International Love Song - The Real Thing
10. You're My Girl - The Doo-Rights
11. Oughta Be A Law - Bobby Freeman
12. Nobody - The Invincibles
13. Sugar Sugar - Shirley
14. Green Power - The Bagdads
15. It's My Life - The Real Thing
16. For The First Time - The Georgia Prophets
17. Do It - Bobby Freeman
18. Trouble - Kent & The Candidates
19. Jelly - The Bagdads
20. What Is Soul - The Real Thing
21. Everybody's Got A Hang Up - Bobby Freeman
22. Love Has Two Faces - The Bagdads
23. Gotta Keep On Talkin' - Maurice Rodgers
24. Do You Wanna Dance 70 - Bobby Freeman
25. Livin' In Fear - The Bagdads
26. Put Another Dime In The Parking Meter - Bobby Freeman



Uploaded | Oboom | RapidGator

:: CBR 320 kbps ::

Uploaded | Oboom | RapidGator

ALL Music

Tired of advertising and pop-ups? Join Now on IsraBox
Register on IsraBox allows you to access to the full resources. You can see torrent links, leave your comments, see hidden text, minimum advertising (no pop-ups), ask for supports and much more.

  • 80
6 voted