Sign Up Now | Log In

Member Login


Long John Baldry - Boogie Woogie: The Warner Bros. Recordings (2013)

28-07-2014, 16:21
Music | Blues | Folk | Rock

Long John Baldry - Boogie Woogie: The Warner Bros. Recordings (2013)

Artist: Long John Baldry
Title Of Album: Boogie Woogie: The Warner Bros. Recordings
Year Of Release: 2013
Genre: British Blues, Blues Rock, Blues Folk
Label: Wounded Bird Records
Format: MP3
Quality: 320 kbps, 44.1 Khz
Total Time: 68:00+52:03
Total Size: 161+123 Mb
Covers: Front & Back

CD 1:
01. Conditional Discharge (Remastered) (3:16)
02. Don't Try To Lay No Boogie-Woogie On The King Of Rock And Roll (Remastered) (3:23)
03. Black Girl (Remastered) (2:48)
04. It Ain't Easy (Remastered) (4:48)
05. Morning, Morning (Remastered) (2:37)
06. I'm Ready (Remastered) (4:08)
07. Let's Burn Down The Cornfield (Remastered) (4:10)
08. Mr. Rubin (Remastered) (3:59)
09. Rock Me When He's Gone (Remastered) (4:02)
10. Flying (Remastered) (6:47)
11. Going Down Slow (Prev. Unreleased) (3:12)
12. Blues (Cornbread, Meat And Molasses) (Prev. Unreleased) (3:00)
13. Love In Vain (Prev. Unreleased) (4:17)
14. Midnight Hour Blues (Prev. Unreleased) (4:07)
15. Black Girl (Prev. Unreleased) (3:30)
16. It Ain't Easy (Prev. Unreleased) (5:10)
17. I'm Ready (Alternate Version) (4:11)
18. Radio Spot (Hidden Track) (0:28)

CD 2:
01. Come Back Again (Remastered) (4:00)
02. Seventh Son (Remastered) (3:04)
03. Wild Mountain Thyme (Remastered) (3:46)
04. Iko Iko (Remastered) (3:06)
05. Jubilee Cloud (Remastered) (4:17)
06. Everything Stops For Tea (Remastered) (3:04)
07. You Can't Judge A Book (Remastered) (4:13)
08. Mother Ain't Dead (Remastered) (2:48)
09. Hambone (Remastered) (3:53)
10. Lord Remember Me (Remastered) (4:01)
11. Armit's Trousers (Remastered) (1:46)
12. Radio Spot #1 Clips Of: Everything Stops For Tea/Iko Iko/Seventh Son (1:01)
13. Bring My Baby Back To Me: Live At Mar-Y-Sol Festival (Prev. Unreleased) (6:23)
14. Only Love Can Break Your Heart (Feat. Joyce Everson) (3:09)
15. I'm Just A Rake & Rambling Boy (Feat. Joyce Everson) (Prev. Unreleased) (3:25)

This double pack, limited to 2500 copies, reissues Long John Baldry's long out of print -- at least in the States -- Warner Brothers albums from the early '70s, adding a handful of additional tracks (alternate versions, radio spots, unreleased songs) to each. Boogie Woogie: The Warner Bros. Recordings includes 1971's It Ain't Easy and 1972's Everything Stops for Tea, which were co-produced by Elton John and Rod Stewart -- neither whom had attained major popularity yet -- who worked on one album side per disc. Although Sid Griffin's generally insightful liner notes that describe these releases as "some of the best British blues rock to grace black vinyl" may be overstating their importance, there is a fair amount of genuinely solid music here. For the most part, Baldry covered American blues in his uniquely ornate British style, which not surprisingly didn't resonate with U.S. audiences the way say, the Rolling Stones did. His was a more studied albeit eclectic approach, dipping into New Orleans pop ("Iko Iko"), U.K. music hall ("Everything Stops for Tea"), traditional folk ("Mother Ain't Dead" with Rod Stewart on vocals and banjo!) and gospel along with some memorable Willie Dixon tunes ("Seventh Son," "I'm Ready," "You Can't Judge a Book"). It Ain't Easy's first five selections feature members of what would later be Rod Stewart's Every Picture Tells a Story band backing up Baldry, and is considered a stepping stone to that classic recording. Baldry isn't the most magnetic performer, but his gruff voice has a certain charm, and even if the material is a bit erratic, he is obviously enjoying himself. A boisterous Baldry tears into the slow blues "Bring My Baby Back to Me" from 1972's Mar-Y-Sol Festival as one of disc two's extras. He also goes country, rather convincingly, for a lovely cover of Neil Young's "Only Love Can Break Your Heart." The only clear classic here is the rollicking "Don't Try to Lay No Boogie Woogie on the King of Rock and Roll," a terrific rocking underground hit that was Baldry's only stab on American radio. While that may not be worth the rather inflated price of this limited-edition reissue, these albums are both intermittently enjoyable and Rhino has done its usual classy job repackaging them with remastered sound and rare pictures. ~Review by Hal Horowitz

Download CD 1:
Uploaded | Oboom | Turbobit
Download CD 2:
Uploaded | Oboom | Turbobit

Tired of advertising and pop-ups? Join Now on IsraBox
Register on IsraBox allows you to access to the full resources. You can see torrent links, leave your comments, see hidden text, minimum advertising (no pop-ups), ask for supports and much more.

  • 100
2 voted


Users of are not allowed to comment this publication.