Sign Up Now | Log In

Member Login


VA - Halcyon Days: One Thousand Violins (Complete Recordings 1985-1987) (2014)

12-07-2014, 09:58
Music | Pop | Rock | Alternative | Indie

VA - Halcyon Days: One Thousand Violins (Complete Recordings 1985-1987) (2014)

Artist: VA
Title Of Album: Halcyon Days: One Thousand Violins (Complete Recordings 1985-1987)
Year Of Release: June 9, 2014
Label: Cherry Red Records
Genre: Indie Rock, Indie Pop
Quality: MP3 | FLAC (tracks)
Bitrate: 320 kbps | lossless
Total Time: 79:35 Min
Total Size: ~182 Mb | ~571 Mb
WebSite: amazon


01. Halcyon Days (12" Version)
02. Like One Thousand Violins
03. I Remember When Everybody Used to Ride Bikes...Now We All Drive Cars
04. The Tragic Tale of Daniel
05. Please Don't Standblast My House
06. I Think It's Time I Broke Down
07. Though It Poured the Next Day Inever Noticed the Rain
08. You Ungrateful Bastard
09. My Beautiful Shirt
10. To Make Your Tea
11. Locked out of the Love-In
12. Why Is It Always December?
13. I Was Depending on You to Be My Jesus
14. No-One Was Saving the World
15. Candleman (Electric Intro Version)
16. If I Were a Bullet (Then for Sure I'd Find a Way to Your Heart)
17. Poet (Long Version)
18. Almost Dead & Nigh on Forty Years to Go
19. Halcyon Days (Alternative Version)
20. Candleman (Acoustic Intro Version)
21. You Ungrateful Bastard (Flexi Version)

Hailing from Sheffield and named after an Orange Juice lyric, ONE THOUSAND VIOLINS evolved out of indie-pop duo The Page Boys, signing to Dan Treacy’s Dreamworld label in 1985. The band revolved around songwriters Colin Gregory and Dave Walmsley, who were influenced by the best in Sixties music.

Debut single ‘Halcyon Days’ won rave reviews and B-side ‘Like One Thousand Violins’ made John Peel’s Festive 50 that year. Second single, the more psychedelic-sounding ‘Please Don’t Sandblast My House’, made the Indie Chart in late 1986.

Their next single, ‘Ungrateful Bastard’, was issued on German label Constrictor and still made the Indie Top 30. The label also issued two mini-LPs by the band. After a final single for Dreamworld, ‘Locked Out Of The Love-In’, ONE THOUSAND VIOLINS issued ‘If I Were A Bullet’ on Report at the end of 1987.

Compiled with involvement from founding members Colin Gregory and John Wood, Halcyon Days offers the band’s complete recorded output from 1985 to 1987, prior to the band changing their line-up and sound. Many of these tracks are new to CD.

Tired of advertising and pop-ups? Join Now on IsraBox
Register on IsraBox allows you to access to the full resources. You can see torrent links, leave your comments, see hidden text, minimum advertising (no pop-ups), ask for supports and much more.

  • 100
2 voted


Users of are not allowed to comment this publication.