Sign Up Now | Log In

Member Login


The Electric Mess - The Electric Mess (2010)

10-07-2014, 19:04
Music | Rock | Punk | Garage | FLAC / APE

The Electric Mess - The Electric Mess (2010)

Artist: The Electric Mess
Title Of Album: The Electric Mess
Year Of Release: 2010
Label: The Electric Mess
Genre: Psychedelic Garage Rock
Total Time: 36:41 min
Format: FLAC (tracks)
Quality: Lossless
Total Size: 260 mb

Featuring an androgynous lead singer, reverb-drenched guitar, fuzz bass, manic drumming, and Farfisa organ, THE ELECTRIC MESS combine British Invasion, 60's garage-punk, futuristic surf rock, psychedelic pop, and early R&B into a sound all their own.

The Electric Mess are a garage band from New York City who sound like they were mysteriously left off the Nuggets box set through a clerical error, even though they recorded their debut album in 2009, not 1966. As period authentic as The Electric Mess sounds, anyone who has spent much time listening to garage revival bands knows that getting the old school sound isn't half as important as having good songs and the ability to rock out, and thankfully The Electric Mess are a band who have hit the trifecta -- they have the vintage approach and feel, they can write great songs and the band isn't afraid to hit ‘em hard and make their music move. Lead guitarist Dan Crowe has a raw, scrappy sound that fills out the melodies and makes room for feedback and distortion that gives his playing a strong personality, and keyboard man/utility player Oweinama Biu conjures up a moody and elemental sounds from his Farfisa and adds some tasty musical seasoning on sitar and second guitar. Bassist Derek Davidson and drummer Craig Rogers are a powerful, stead-rollin' rhythm section, and lead singer Chip Fontaine is a real discovery. Fontaine is actually Esther Crow making like a guy, but while her voice is clearly in a female register, she belts with a swagger and sneer that would do Sky Saxon or Sean Bonniwell proud and knows just what to do with these songs. And fine songs they are -- "You've Become A Witch" is a new spin on a classic garage rock theme, "Mondo Bongo" is revved up exotica deluxe, "She Has A Funny Walk" is a memorable tribute to a memorable gal, and "Remember To Forget Today" shows this band can downshift into something poppier and still connect. Anyone who wonders if there's anything left to be said on the garage revival scene ought to give The Electric Mess' debut a listen -- this record proves there's plenty of fresh life to be plugged into the old frameworks if you've the right kind of talent and energy, and that's just what The Electric Mess bring to the table.


1. You've Become A Witch
2. Trash Talkin' Woman
3. She Has A Funny Walk
4. That's Enough
5. It's Been A Long Journey
6. The Grass Ain't Always Greener
7. Mondo Bongo
8. Cause You Think You're A Star
9. You Make Me Raw
10. Remember To Forget Today
11. Don't Wanna Be Your Man
12. I Can't Go On Loving You
13. Simone

Esther Crow (aka Chip Fontaine): vocals, percussion
Dan Crow: guitar
Oweinama Biu: keyboards, rhythm guitar, vocals, percussion
Derek Davidson: bass, vocals
Craig Rogers: drums


Uploaded | | Oboom | TurboBit

ALL Music

Tired of advertising and pop-ups? Join Now on IsraBox
Register on IsraBox allows you to access to the full resources. You can see torrent links, leave your comments, see hidden text, minimum advertising (no pop-ups), ask for supports and much more.

  • 100
1 voted