Sign Up Now | Log In

Member Login


Kenny Brown - Goin' Back To Mississippi (1996)

15-10-2016, 18:51
Blues | Country | Rock | FLAC / APE

Title: Goin' Back To Mississippi
Year Of Release: 1996
Label: Herman's
Genre: Blues, Modern Electric Blues, Country Blues
Quality: Mp3 320 / APE (image, log, .cue)
Total Time: 40:50
Total Size: 124/280 Mb (covers)


01. Jumper On The Line
02. In The Mood
03. Goin' Back To Mississippi
04. Frankie & Albert
05. Talk About Me
06. Grease Monkey
07. Hold Me Baby
08. Wretched Mind
09. From Now On
10. Im A Lover

Kenny Brown - guitar,vocal
Dale Beavers - guitar,vocal
Terrence Bishop - bass
John Bonds - drums

b. 5 July 1953, Selma, Alabama, USA. Raised in northern Mississippi’s hill country, as a child Brown absorbed the region’s rich musical heritage. Largely self-taught on guitar, his guitar-playing neighbour, the under-recorded bluesman Joe Callicott, gave him encouragement and coaching. At the start of the 70s, Brown, who still had a day job in the construction industry, met R.L. Burnside and suggested they team up. Thereafter, he played with Burnside whenever possible, also working with George ‘Mojo’ Buford, Mississippi Fred McDowell and Johnny Woods before his partnership with Burnside filled his working life. At one point, he and Burnside played with Jon Spencer’s punk blues band. By the early 90s, Burnside and Brown were a formidable team, touring the USA, playing everything from juke joints to small festivals. A gifted slide player, a technique he had developed early in his career but which he insists benefited from Burnside’s tutelage, Brown is a thoroughly accomplished musician. His singing voice is strong and moaning, his interpretations powerful. Many of the songs in his repertoire, some of which he learned from Callicott, come from the past and have matured over generations but which, in Brown’s arrangements, seem freshly minted. These include ‘If Down Was Up’, ‘You Don't Know My Mind’, ‘Wretched Mind’ and ‘Lonesome Katy Blues’. He also performs some Burnside’s songs, such as ‘Miss Maybelle’ and ‘Goin’ Down South’, as well as original songs of his own like ‘From Now On’ and ‘Hold Me, Baby’. For his own-name 1997 debut, Brown’s band, which included some part-time musicians, was Dale Beavers (guitar/vocals), Terrence ‘T-Money’ Bishop (bass), and J. Farrell Bonds (drums). On the 2003 follow-up Stingray he was joined by Takeeshi Imura (bass) and Cedric Burnside (drums), R.L.’s grandson, who had worked with the Burnside/Brown team since he was 15 years old.

Tired of advertising and pop-ups? Join Now on IsraBox
Register on IsraBox allows you to access to the full resources. You can see torrent links, leave your comments, see hidden text, minimum advertising (no pop-ups), ask for supports and much more.

  • 100
3 voted


Users of are not allowed to comment this publication.