Sign Up Now | Log In

Member Login


Vladimir Ashkenazy - Shostakovich Piano Works (2004) {SACD}

6-07-2014, 06:10
Music | Classical Music | FLAC / APE

Vladimir Ashkenazy - Shostakovich Piano Works (2004) {SACD}

Artist: Vladimir Ashkenazy
Title Of Album: Shostakovich Piano Works
Year Of Release: 2004
Label: Decca
Genre: Classical
Format: Super Audio CD
Quality: DST64 5.1, 2.0, Image (ISO)
Bitrate: 2.8224 MHz
Total Time: 01:01:28 min
Total Size: 3,45 Gb
WWW: amazon

A great exponent of Russian piano music, Vladimir Ashkenazy is much admired for his brilliant and insightful recordings of Scriabin, Rachmaninov, Prokofiev, and Shostakovich. Of these composers, Shostakovich poses the least daunting technical challenges, but, arguably, offers the most puzzling enigmas for interpretation. To his credit, Ashkenazy is usually circumspect and sensitive to Shostakovich's mercurial intentions. Where ambiguity holds sway, as in the brittle and unsettled Piano Sonata No. 2, or the quizzical and disturbing Aphorisms, Ashkenazy plays the music precisely and leaves the composer's riddles for the listener to ponder. Alert to the ironic possibilities in this varied body of work, Ashkenazy treads with care and generally avoids certitude. When Shostakovich flirts with parody, as in the grotesquely elegant Fantastic Dances (3) and the Lyric Waltz, there is no need to exaggerate because Shostakovich's mannerisms speak for themselves. Ashkenazy hints at his own attitudes in his subtle timing of phrases, but seldom goes further. Even though Ashkenazy's caution could be misconstrued as ambivalence, his discretion is preferable to broader, more flamboyant approaches. Only in the Polka is Ashkenazy over-indulgent. By treating this sly piece as a flashy encore, he oversteps the boundaries observed in the rest of his program, and closes the disc with a disconcerting bang.

Vladimir Ashkenazy - Shostakovich Piano Works (2004) {SACD}
1. I. Allegretto
2. II. Largo
3. III. Moderato Con Moto
4. I. Allegretto
5. II. Andantino - Allegretto
6. III. Allegretto
7. I. Allegro Moderato E Scherzando
8. II. Andante
9. III. Allegro Moderato
10. IV. Moderato
11. V. Andantino
12. Lyric Waltz
13. Short Piece
14. Spanish Dance
15. Nocturne
16. I. Recitative
17. II. Serenade
18. III. Nocturne
19. IV. Elegy
20. V. Marche Funebre
21. VI. Etude
22. VII. Dance Of Death
23. VIII. Canon
24. IX. Legend
25. X. Lullaby
26. Polka

Tired of advertising and pop-ups? Join Now on IsraBox
Register on IsraBox allows you to access to the full resources. You can see torrent links, leave your comments, see hidden text, minimum advertising (no pop-ups), ask for supports and much more.

  • 100
3 voted

Panhistoricus   User offline   23 June 2016 09:34

Can you, please, repost this release, now files are all gone,
Thanks a lot, indeed!

  • Dislike
  • 0
  • Like


Users of are not allowed to comment this publication.