Sign Up Now | Log In

Member Login


Richard Henderson - Seventh Day: Acoustic Lap Steel Guitar (2010)

30-06-2014, 18:53
Music | Blues

Richard Henderson - Seventh Day: Acoustic Lap Steel Guitar (2010)

Artist: Richard Henderson
Title Of Album: Seventh Day: Acoustic Lap Steel Guitar
Year Of Release: 2010
Genre: Slide Acoustic Blues
Label: Richard Henderson
Format: MP3
Quality: 320 kbps, 44.1 Khz
Total Time: 45:24
Total Size: 104 Mb
Covers: Front

01. I Just Want To Make Love To You (2:39)
02. Judgment Day (3:05)
03. You Can't Catch Me (3:41)
04. Honky Tonk Blues (2:18)
05. Little Red Rooster (3:37)
06. Whiskey Annie (3:19)
07. Nadine (Is It You?) (2:32)
08. I'm Ready (2:33)
09. You Gotta Move (2:37)
10. Prodigal Son (2:34)
11. Your Papa Don't Know (3:08)
12. Who Do You Love (3:35)
13. I'm A King Bee (2:14)
14. Seventh Day (3:08)
15. Don't Tell Me (4:16)

Over the past few years, there has been a dramatic resurgence in roots music and many have taken up the acoustic lap steel guitar. There are, however, remarkably few solo lap steel guitarists. Richard Henderson is one of those few. He has developed a characteristic edgy style based on the traditions of the blues, country and rock ‘n roll, and the result is compelling. Attesting to that, Richard was named Instrumentalist of the Year for 2010 at the Durham Region Music Awards and First Runner Up in The Toronto Blues Society's 2011 Talent Search. Richard was also invited to showcase at the 2011 International Blues Summit in Toronto and the 2011 Ontario Council of Folk Festivals in Niagara Falls, and showcased for Mariposa and Winterfolk Festivals. Also, Maverick, the UK’s leading independent country music magazine, selected one of Richard’s original songs for its covermount CD for the June, 2013 edition.

The acoustic lap steel guitar is an interesting and uncommon instrument, particularly when played with only vocal accompaniment. It was developed in Hawaii in the 19th century and is the direct ancestor of both the dobro, played in traditional Americana music, and the pedal steel guitar, so characteristic of American country music. It was also instrumental in the development of the slide guitar blues styles played in the southern United States beginning in the early 20th century. Richard's performances give a unique perspective on the convergence of the historical development and the continuing evolution of acoustic traditional music.

Richard’s first solo CD, “Seventh Day: Acoustic Lap Steel Guitar”, has aired on over 70 radio stations in Canada, the United States and Europe and has received critical acclaim here at home and overseas. “Seventh Day” documents the evolution of traditional roots music from the 20th century into the 21st, all rather unconventionally adapted for the acoustic lap steel guitar. We hear the metamorphosis of gospel, country, and blues into early rock ‘n roll, thematically underpinned by a handful of original songs. The result, while evocative of roots and folk traditions, is transformational; leading to a vibrant reconstruction of acoustic roots music.

Uploaded | Oboom | Turbobit

Tired of advertising and pop-ups? Join Now on IsraBox
Register on IsraBox allows you to access to the full resources. You can see torrent links, leave your comments, see hidden text, minimum advertising (no pop-ups), ask for supports and much more.

  • 0
0 voted


Users of are not allowed to comment this publication.