Sign Up Now | Log In

Member Login


Miles Davis - Take Off: The Complete Blue Note Albums (2014)

28-06-2014, 03:40
Jazz | FLAC / APE

Miles Davis - Take Off: The Complete Blue Note Albums (2014)

Artist: Miles Davis
Title Of Album: Take Off: The Complete Blue Note Albums
Year Of Release: 2014
Label: Blue Note
Genre: Jazz
Quality: 320 / FLAC
Total Time: 97:46 min
Total Size: 224 / 401 MB


Disc 1

Young Man With A Horn

1. Dear Old Stockholm
2. Chance It
3. Yesterdays
4. Donna
5. Woody 'N You
6. How Deep Is The Ocean

Miles Davis, Vol. 2

7. Kelo
8. Enigma
9. Ray's Idea
10. Tempus Fugit
11. C.T.A.
12. I Waited For You

Disc 2

Miles Davis, Vol.3

1. Take Off
2. Lazy Susan
3. The Leap
4. Well You Needn't
5. Weirdo
6. It Never Entered My Mind

Bonus Tracks: Alternative Takes

7. Chance It take 2
8. Donna take 1- single version
9. Woody N' You take 1
10. Kelo take 1
11. Enigma take 1
12. Ray's Idea take 1
13. Tempus Fugit take 2

The 2014 double-disc anthology Take Off: The Complete Blue Note Albums compiles tracks jazz trumpeter Miles Davis recorded for Blue Note Records during the '50s. These are recordings made after Davis left Prestige, but not including the 1949-1950 sessions later released as the classic 1957 album Birth of the Cool. Here, instead, we get recordings that were initially released as 10" LPs titled Young Man with a Horn, Miles Davis, Vol. 2, and Miles Davis, Vol. 3. Also included are all of the alternate takes that accompanied the original releases. Backing Davis on these sessions is a veritable who's who of future jazz hall of famers, including drummer Art Blakey, pianist Horace Silver, saxophonist Jackie McLean, and others. These recordings were made during a comparatively fallow period in Davis' career, just as he was emerging from his initial bout with heroin addiction. Here, cuts like the sanguine "Yesterdays" and the poignant "It Never Entered My Mind" reveal a darker, if no less melodic, version of the trumpeter who had previously paid his dues, chasing the shadow of Dizzy Gillespie in Charlie Parker's quintet. In fact, Davis tackles several Gillespie-associated compositions here, including "Woody 'N You" and "Ray's Idea," delivering them in his own understated, if no less bravura, style. This is the beginning of Davis the minimalist, eschewing flowery asides for straightforward, unadorned melodic line readings and improvisations played in a vibrato-free eighth-note style. In that sense, these cuts prefigure the more aggressive hard bop and harmonically challenging post-bop of the '60s; styles that Davis later helped to innovate with his "first great quintet." Ultimately, the tracks on Take Off: The Complete Blue Note Albums point the way toward Davis' landmark Columbia albums that transformed him from one of the best jazz trumpeters on the N.Y.C. scene into an international superstar.

Tired of advertising and pop-ups? Join Now on IsraBox
Register on IsraBox allows you to access to the full resources. You can see torrent links, leave your comments, see hidden text, minimum advertising (no pop-ups), ask for supports and much more.

  • 40
3 voted


Users of are not allowed to comment this publication.