Sign Up Now | Log In

Member Login


Trixie Whitley – Fourth Corner (Deluxe Edition) (2013)

16-01-2015, 17:30
Music | Blues | Soul | Rock | Alternative | Indie | FLAC / APE

Trixie Whitley – Fourth Corner (Deluxe Edition) (2013)

Artist: Trixie Whitley
Title Of Album: Fourth Corner (Deluxe Edition)
Year Of Release: 2013
Label: Strong Blood Music
Genre: Indie Rock, Blues, Soul, Singer-Songwriter
Quality: Mp3 | Flac
Bitrate: 320 kbps | Lossless
Total Time: 104:37 Min
Total Size: 251 Mb | 600 Mb


1. Irene
2. Never Enough
3. Pieces
4. Need Your Love
5. Silent Rebel Pt. 2
6. Breathe You In My Dreams
7. Gradual Return
8. Hotel No Name
9. Morelia
10. Fourth Corner
11. Oh, The Joy

1. A Thousand Thieves (Live at AB)
2. ThatPOWER (Live at 3FM)
3. Never Enough (KCRW Session)
4. Breathe You In My Dreams (France Inter Session)
5. A Change Is Gonna Come (Oüi FM Session)
6. Strong Blood
7. I’d Rather Go Blind
8. Irene (Kid Koala Remix)
9. Pieces (Kid Koala Remix)
10. Danger Mind (Demo)
11. Need Your Love (Studio Brussel Session)
12. Like Ivy
13. A Thousand Thieves

Trixie Whitley has played stages all over the globe, but she is best known, if at all, as the lead vocalist of Daniel Lanois' supergroup Black Dub. Whitley, still in her twenties, is a songwriter and multi-instrumentalist with the confidence and savvy of a schooled veteran. She's been performing in Europe and New York since she was a kid, in mediums ranging from music and dance to theater. Fourth Corner is her debut full-length; it follows three EPs that began with 2008's Strong Blood (produced with Me'Shell Ndegéocello and Dougie Bowne). She is the daughter of the innovative guitarist and songwriter Chris Whitley. Her primary collaborators on this self-penned 11-song set are producer/keyboardist Thomas Bartlett (aka Doveman), and engineer Pat Dillett — both have lengthy credit sheets. There are a handful of other guests, including drummer Ben Perowski and Black Dub bassist Daryl Johnson. Lead-off single "Breathe You in My Dreams," with its brooding, elegiac intensity, sparse instrumentation, nocturnal effects, and deeply soulful vocals is an excellent introduction to her gifts as singer and writer. Whitley is firmly grounded in roots traditions — vintage soul, R&B, blues, and rock — but she invests them with a 21st century modernism that extends these traditions toward indie rock with intuitive production, wily hooks, strategic effects, solid lyrics, and that amazing voice. She peels the leathery scars off the listener's heart while bearing her own in each tune. Her slide guitar playing is clearly influenced by her late dad's (the barely contained feedback and distortion in the scorching rocker "Hotel No Name" and the lone National Steel blues in the moving closer "Oh, The Joy" are prime examples), but it's never the focal point; it's an elemental service to her songwriting, as are her drumming, bass playing, and piano skills). "Pieces," with its layered chamber strings and skeletal percussion loop, support the emotional tightrope that is her singing. "I Need Your Love" is a hybrid retro-soul with an infectious nodding rhythm. The jazzy "Morelia," is elegant but packs a wallop. The atmospheric title cut unwinds gradually, hovering and drifting on a shimmering frame with only her voice to ground and illuminate the poetic crevices in the lyric and shed light on the rumbling emotions beneath. Fourth Corner establishes Whitley as a sophisticated, mature songwriter and a passionate vocalist only beginning to realize her powers.

Tired of advertising and pop-ups? Join Now on IsraBox
Register on IsraBox allows you to access to the full resources. You can see torrent links, leave your comments, see hidden text, minimum advertising (no pop-ups), ask for supports and much more.

  • 100
1 voted


Users of are not allowed to comment this publication.