Sign Up Now | Log In

Member Login


Kathleen Ferrier - The Complete EMI Recordings (1944-1951) (3CD Box Set) - 2012, MP3

13-06-2014, 16:16
Music | Classical Music

Kathleen Ferrier - The Complete EMI Recordings (1944-1951) (3CD Box Set) - 2012, MP3

Artist: Kathleen Ferrier
Title Of Album: The Complete EMI Recordings (1944-1951) (3CD Box Set)
Year Of Release: 2012
Label: Warner Classics
Genre: Classical
Quality: MP3
Bitrate: 320 kbps (моnо)
Total Time: 03:09:49
Total Size: 448mb
WebSite: Amazon

Kathleen Ferrier - The Complete EMI Recordings (1944-1951) (3CD Box Set) - 2012, MP3

Kathleen Ferrier's recording career with EMI was relatively brief in an already too brief career. Although he was delighted at having signed her up, Walter Legge's dictatorial manner repelled her and she soon defected to Decca, for whom, by and large, she made the best of her recordings in terms of both quality and sound.

Nonetheless, there are gems here: not least her early microphone testing sessions for Legge, the invaluable "Kindertotenlieder" for her mentor Bruno Walter and a complete recording of her signature role, Gluck's "Orfeo", in Amsterdam in 1951. The latter is an egregious example of where an EMI version easily tops the Decca: the 1947 recording, made under the inflexible Stiedry before Ferrier had refined and deepened her interpretation on stage, is both abridged and inferior in almost every way to this one. Conversely, the Bach excerpts, recorded almost by accident during rehearsals with Elisabeth Schwarzkopf under Karajan, are nowhere near as satisfying as the studio recordings made for Decca with Sir Adrian Boult, so ardent collectors will want to own the complete sets from both houses.

There is a theory that part of Ferrier's extraordinary quality of sound derives from the fact that she was in a sense a true original, never having been schooled to acquire a "conservatory sound", although to my ears she is simply the natural successor in a line of traditional British contraltos now virtually extinct


01. Gluck, What is life without thee? (Orpheus & Eurydice)
02. Brahms, Liebestreu op.3 nr.1
03. Brahms, Feinsliebchen (Deutsche Volkslieder II, nr.12)
04. Elgar, My work is done...It is because (The Dream of Gerontius)
05. Greene, I will lay me down in peace (O God of righteousness)
06. Greene, O praise the Lord (Praise the Lord, o my soul)
07. Handel, Spring is coming (Ottone)
08. Handel, Come to me, soothing sleep (Ottone)
09. Purcell, Sound the trumpet (Birthday Ode to Queen Mary)
10. Purcell, Let us wander, not unseen (The Indian Queen)
11. Purcell, Shepherd, Shepherd, cease decoying (King Arthur)
12. Mendelssohn, I would that my love op.63 nr.1
13. Mendelssohn, Greeting op.63 nr.3
14. Mahler, Kindertotenlieder - I. Nun will die Sonn' so hell aufgeh'n
15. Mahler, Kindertotenlieder - II. Nun seh ich wohl, warum so dunkle Flammen
16. Mahler, Kindertotenlieder - III. Wenn dein Mutterlein
17. Mahler, Kindertotenlieder - IV. Oft denk' ich, sie sind nur ausgegangen
18. Mahler, Kindertotenlieder - V. In diesem Wetter


01. Bach, Mass in B minor BWV232 - I. Christe eleison
02. Bach, Mass in B minor BWV232 - II. Qui sedes
03. Bach, Mass in B minor BWV232 - III. Et in unum Dominum
04. Bach, Mass in B minor BWV232 - IV. Agnus Dei
05. Gluck, Orfeo ed Eurydice - Sinfonia
06. ACT I - Ah! se intorno a quest'urna funesta (Chorus, Orfeo)
07. ACT I - Amici, quel lamento (Orfeo)
08. ACT I - Ballet of Shepherds and Nymphs (Orchestra)
09. ACT I - Ah! se intorno a quest'urna funesta (Chorus, Orfeo)
10. ACT I - Chiamo il mio ben cosi
11. ACT I - Voi delle ombre oscura (Orfeo)
12. ACT I - Amore assistera l'infelice marito! (Amore, Orfeo)
13. ACT I - Gli sguardi trattieni (Amore)
14. ACT I - Che disse? Che ascoltai? (Orfeo)
15. ACT II, Scene 1 - Dance of the Furies - Chi mai dell'Erebo (Orchestra, Chorus)
16. ACT II, Scene 1 - Deh! placatevi con me (Orfeo, Chorus)
17. ACT II, Scene 1 - Misero giovane! (Chorus)
18. ACT II, Scene 1 - Mille pene, ombre sdegnose (Orfeo)
19. ACT II, Scene 1 - Ah! quale incognito (Chorus, Orfeo)


01. ACT II, Scene 2 - Dance of the Blessed Spirits - Dance of the Heroes (Orchestra)
02. ACT II, Scene 2 - E quest'asile ameno e grato (Eurydice, Chorus)
03. ACT II, Scene 2 - Che puro ciel! Che chiaro sol! (Orfeo)
04. ACT II, Scene 2 - Vien a'regni del riposo (Chorus)
05. ACT II, Scene 2 - Ballet of the Heroes (Orchestra)
06. ACT II, Scene 2 - O voi, ombre felici (Orfeo, Chorus)
07. ACT II, Scene 2 - Torna, o bello (Chorus)
08. ACT III - Ah vieni, o diletta, vien con me
09. ACT III - Vieni! Vieni con me, vieni, o cara! (Orfeo, Eurydice)
10. ACT III - Ah, dovess'io saper (Eurydice)
11. ACT III - Che fiero momento
12. ACT III - Ah, per me il duol ricomincia (Eurydice, Orfeo)
13. ACT III - Che feci mai?
14. ACT III - Che faro senza Eurydice?
15. ACT III - Ah! finisca e per sempre (Orfeo)
16. ACT III - Non piu! che fai tu?
17. ACT III - Gaudio, gaudio son al cuore (Amore, Orfeo, Eurydice)
18. ACT III - Trionfi Amore! (Chorus)
19. Mahler, Kindertotenlieder (alternative takes) - Nun will die Sonn' so hell aufgeh'n
20. Mahler, Kindertotenlieder (alternative takes) - In diesem Wetter, in diesem Braus

Tired of advertising and pop-ups? Join Now on IsraBox
Register on IsraBox allows you to access to the full resources. You can see torrent links, leave your comments, see hidden text, minimum advertising (no pop-ups), ask for supports and much more.

  • 0
0 voted

dastardlee   User offline   13 June 2014 16:18

Thanks so much, MusicBox!

  • Dislike
  • 0
  • Like


Users of are not allowed to comment this publication.