Sign Up Now | Log In

Member Login


VA - Say Amen! Gospel Funk from Jewel Records (2014)

12-06-2014, 19:01
Music | Soul | Funk | FLAC / APE

VA - Say Amen! Gospel Funk from Jewel Records (2014)

Artist: VA
Title Of Album: Say Amen! Gospel Funk from Jewel Records
Year Of Release: 2014
Label: Jewel Records/Varese Sarabande
Genre: Funk
Quality: Mp3 | Flac
Bitrate: 320 kbps | Lossless
Total Time: 62:55 Min
Total Size: 152 Mb | 326 Mb


1. Ernest Franklin – Trying Time
2. The Meditation Singers – A Change Is Gonna Come
3. Stanley Winston – No More Ghettos in America
4. The Violinaires – Message to My Friends
5. Clarence Fountain – This Little Light of Mine
6. Dorothy Norwood – He’s a Friend
7. Keith Barrow – Everything’s Gonna Be Alright
8. Albertina Walker – Mama Said, Thank You
9. Rev. Oris May – Nobody Can Turn Me Around
10. Armstrong Brothers – Can You Treat Him Like a Brother
11. Roscoe Robinson – Do It the Right Way
12. The Fantastic Violinaires – I’m Not Worried
13. The Traveling Echoes – God Don’t Change
14. The Brooklyn Allstars – I’m Glad You’re Mine
15. The Southerners – Jesus Is Real to Me
16. Chimes – Woke Up This Morning
17. The Blind Boys Of Alabama – I’m on the Battlefield
18. The Silver Gate Quartet – Watch That Rogue

One of the coolest collections of funky gospel we've ever heard – and a key look at the massive sounds of the legendary Jewel Records label! Jewel was home to some great funk, soul, and blues artists at the start of the 70s – and it's no surprise that the best sounds from those styles stepped over to inform the label's gospel output too – so much so that Jewel ended up with a huge legacy of some of the coolest gospel cuts ever – just the sort of tracks to cross over strongly to our more secular-tuned ears! Lots of this work feels like early 70s funky soul on labels like Atlantic and Chess – and the track selection may well be the best we've ever seen for a compilation on the Fuel label – much more in the spirit of a set on Numero or Ace. Titles include "Everything's Gonna Be Alright" by Keith Barrow, "Message To My Friends" by The Violinaires, "Trying Time" by Ernest Franklin, "Woke Up This Morning" by Chimes, "Mama Said Thank You" by Albertina Walker, "No More Ghettos In America" by Stanley Winston, "Can You Treat Him Like A Brother" by Armstrong Brothers, and "I'm Glad You're Mine" (by The Brooklyn Allstars)

Tired of advertising and pop-ups? Join Now on IsraBox
Register on IsraBox allows you to access to the full resources. You can see torrent links, leave your comments, see hidden text, minimum advertising (no pop-ups), ask for supports and much more.

  • 100
2 voted


Users of are not allowed to comment this publication.