Sign Up Now | Log In

Member Login


Ronnie Lane & Slim Chance - Ooh La La : An Island Harvest (2014)

5-06-2014, 09:02
Music | Folk | Rock | FLAC / APE

Ronnie Lane & Slim Chance - Ooh La La : An Island Harvest (2014)

Artist: Ronnie Lane & Slim Chance
Title Of Album: Ooh La La : An Island Harvest
Year Of Release: 2014
Label: Universal / 5350485
Genre: Folk Rock
Total Time: 2:30:09
Format: Mp3 / FLAC (tracks +.cue, log-file)
Quality: CBR 320 kbps / Lossless
Total Size: 360 mb / 871 mb

From AMG:

Despite being one of rock & roll's best songwriters, and playing foundational roles in the Small Faces and the Faces, Ronnie Lane has been rather ill-served by the official music biz. After leaving the Faces in 1973, he moved to Fishpool farm, near Hyssington on the Welsh-English border. There, while living the country life, he assembled Slim Chance, an evolving band that wove together a loose, spirited, good-timey amalgam of blues, rural folk, skiffle, country, roots rock, and even some early jazz and vaudeville in both originals and well-chosen covers. They released three albums between 1974 and 1976: Anymore for Anymore, Ronnie Lane's Slim Chance, and One for the Road. They scored one hit single with "How Come," and nearly had another with "The Poacher." Edsel reissued the albums in the U.K. in the 1990s, and the Lane family's Just for a Moment from 2006 touched on the Slim Chance material. Ooh La La: An Island Harvest addresses that absence. Over two discs and 37 tunes, it compiles material from the two latter albums, unreleased alternate versions of classic Lane tunes, and eight cuts from the BBC in Concert broadcast of 1974. Unfortunately, Anymore for Anymore is not represented by studio material, but there still isn't a duff cut here. The fourth-take alternate of "Ooh La La" features a woolier alto sax solo creating a wilder, more celebratory feel, while the drunken first take of Chuck Berry's "You Never Can Tell" contains false starts, but finds its teetering groove and look out. The midtempo "Steppin' and Reelin'" blends acoustic and electric guitars, mandolins, and rickety snare in a priceless roots rock barroom shuffle. The alternate take of "I'm Gonna Sit Right Down (And Write Myself a Letter)" touches on vaudeville by way of 1940s jazz-blues and it's looser than the album version. The second-take of "The Poacher" uses more cello, less violin. The swelling organ underscores the baroque pop melody, making it sound brighter. When you contrast it with the choppy R&B of "Street Gang," the raw acoustic blues of "Nobody's Listenin'," and the breezy back-porch waltz of "Country Boy," you understand what this band was capable of--even when they weren't trying that hard. Thankfully, the tracks from the BBC in Concert gig are placed together at the end of disc two, and reproduced in solid quality. They include a kinetic version of "How Come" and a soulful country-rock reading of "I Believe in You." Most importantly, it includes a devastatingly beautiful, wonderfully ragged "Debris," followed by a raucous reading of the title cut to close. Ooh La La: An Island Harvest makes for absolutely essential listening for anyone interested in Lane and mid-'70s rock & roll. That said, it creates real longing for official reissues of all three RLSC albums and whatever else remains in the can.

Review by Thom Jurek

(2CD) 2014 collection featuring most of 'Ronnie Lane's Slim Chance' & 'One For The Road' albums remastered + previously unreleased tracks & a 1974 BBC session! 37 tracks in total plus a 16-page booklet.


Disc: 1
1. Ooh La La - Ronnie Lane's Slim Chance
2. Don't Try & Change My Mind - Ronnie Lane's Slim Chance
3. One for the Road - Ronnie Lane's Slim Chance
4. Buddy Can You Spare Me A Dime - Ronnie Lane's Slim Chance
5. Steppin' and Reelin' - Ronnie Lane's Slim Chance
6. Harvest Home - Ronnie Lane's Slim Chance
7. 32nd Street - Ronnie Lane's Slim Chance
8. Give Me a Penny - Ronnie Lane
9. I'm Gonna Sit Right Down (And Write Myself a Letter) - Ronnie Lane
10. You Never Can Tell - Ronnie Lane's Slim Chance
11. Back Street Boy - Ronnie Lane's Slim Chance
12. Snake - Ronnie Lane
13. Burnin' Summer - Ronnie Lane's Slim Chance
14. Anniversary - Ronnie Lane
15. Country Boy - Ronnie Lane
16. What Went Down (That Night With You) - Ronnie Lane
17. Tin and Tambourine - Ronnie Lane
18. Little Piece of Nothing - Ronnie Lane

Disc: 2
1. The Poacher - Ronnie Lane's Slim Chance
2. Street Gang - Ronnie Lane
3. Nobody's Listenin' - Ronnie Lane's Slim Chance
4. Stone - Ronnie Lane
5. G'morning - Ronnie Lane's Slim Chance
6. Bottle of Brandy - Ronnie Lane
7. Single Saddle - Ronnie Lane
8. Lovely - Ronnie Lane
9. Ain't No Lady - Ronnie Lane
10. Blue Monday - Ronnie Lane
11. Anniversary - Ronnie Lane
12. Last Orders - Ronnie Lane's Slim Chance
13. Done This One Before - Ronnie Lane
14. Flags and Banners - Ronnie Lane's Slim Chance
15. Tell Everyone - Ronnie Lane's Slim Chance
16. How Come - Ronnie Lane's Slim Chance
17. I Believe In You - Ronnie Lane's Slim Chance
18. Debris - Ronnie Lane
19. Ooh La la - Ronnie Lane's Slim Chance



Uploaded | | Oboom | TurboBit

:: CBR 320 kbps ::

Uploaded | | Oboom | TurboBit

ALL Music

Tired of advertising and pop-ups? Join Now on IsraBox
Register on IsraBox allows you to access to the full resources. You can see torrent links, leave your comments, see hidden text, minimum advertising (no pop-ups), ask for supports and much more.

  • 100
3 voted