Sign Up Now | Log In

Member Login


Jimmy & Mama Yancey & Guests - The Unissued 1951 Yancey Wire Recordings (1997 / 2008)

27-05-2014, 10:38
Music | Jazz | Blues | Other | Oldies | FLAC / APE

Jimmy & Mama Yancey & Guests - The Unissued 1951 Yancey Wire Recordings (1997 / 2008)

Artist: Jimmy & Mama Yancey & Guests
Title Of Album: The Unissued 1951 Yancey Wire Recordings
Year Of Release: 1997 (CD 2008)
Label: Document Records | DOCD-1007
Genre: Boogie-woogie, Piano Blues
Quality: FLAC (image+.cue+.log) | Mp3
Bitrate: Lossless | CBR 320 kbps
Total Time: 76:54
Total Size: 285 MB (Scans) | 181 MB

Review by Scott Yanow:
Boogie-woogie pianist Jimmy Yancey and his wife, Mama Yancey, used to have musical gatherings at their Chicago home. The performances heard on this CD were recorded by a wire recorder three months before Yancey's death, and were released for the first time on this 1997 CD. The recording quality varies greatly, ranging from listenable to quite noisy, so this is not a release for general listeners. However, Jimmy Yancey collectors will definitely want it, because there are some unique moments heard along the way. First, an unknown pianist is featured on four numbers, playing very good boogie-woogie, accompanying Mama Yancey on "Make Me a Pallet on the Floor" and "Chicago in Mind." Jimmy Yancey, who was not feeling that well but still playing excellently, is featured on the next five numbers, although two of the three selections that also feature Mama Yancey and have Phil Kiely providing a third hand on the piano, playing the high notes, are a bit damaged. Walter Joplin (no relation) performs "Scott Joplin's New Rag." A jam session takes place with both of the Yanceys (they share the vocals on "Royal Garden Blues"), with clarinetist Buzz Reynolds and banjoist Dick Mushlitz featured on six mostly listenable numbers. In addition, Mushlitz switches to piano for a solo "Blues" recorded a day later, and there are repeats of three of the performances from a clearer but scratchier source. The joy of the music generally shines through on this historic release.


01. Lux's Boogie
02. Make Me A Pallet On The Floor
03. Chicago In Mind
04. Cow Cow Blues
05. Tomorrow Morning
06. Four O'Clock Blues
07. Shave 'Em Dry
08. Elephant Rag
09. Mellow Blues
10. Scott Joplin's New Rag
11. Royal Garden Blues
12. Hurry Sundown
13. Don't You Wanna Know
14. How Long Blues
15. Yancey's Bugle Call
16. Fives
17. Blues
18. Chicago In Mind
19. Don't You Wanna Know
20. How Long Blues

Jimmy & Mama Yancey & Guests - The Unissued 1951 Yancey Wire Recordings (1997 / 2008)

Tired of advertising and pop-ups? Join Now on IsraBox
Register on IsraBox allows you to access to the full resources. You can see torrent links, leave your comments, see hidden text, minimum advertising (no pop-ups), ask for supports and much more.

  • 0
0 voted


Users of are not allowed to comment this publication.