Sign Up Now | Log In

Member Login


VA - The Sound Of Siam Vol.2 (Molam & Luk Thung Isan From North-East Thailand 1970-1982) (2014)

26-05-2014, 21:18
World | FLAC / APE

VA - The Sound Of Siam Vol.2 (Molam & Luk Thung Isan From North-East Thailand 1970-1982) (2014)

Artist: VA
Title Of Album: The Sound Of Siam Vol.2 (Molam & Luk Thung Isan From North-East Thailand 1970-1982)
Year Of Release: 2014
Label: Soundway Records
Genre: World
Quality: 320 / FLAC
Total Time: 67:10 min
Total Size: 154 / 375 MB


01. Angkanang Kunchai - Kid Hod Chu [ 02:40 ]
02. Panom Promma - Mainaa Tam Pom Loe [ 02:46 ]
03. The Petch Phin Thong Band - Bump Lam Plearn [ 03:03 ]
04. Angkanang Kunchai - Teoy Salap Pamaa [ 04:01 ]
05. Saksiam Petchchompu - Jeb Jing Jeb Jai [ 03:00 ]
06. Montien Tienthong - Kor Kai [ 03:38 ]
07. Onuma Singsiri - Lam Plearn Toe Lhong Tong [ 03:05 ]
08. Petch Asia Band - Lam Plearn Tua Yaang [ 05:25 ]
09. Banyen Sriwongsa - Ramwong Saraphan [ 04:05 ]
10. Thepporn Petchubon - Pa Gun Tor [ 02:53 ]
11. Thonghuad Faited - Eua Aree See Sor [ 03:21 ]
12. Angkanang Kunchai - Lam Plearn Mee Mia Laew Pai [ 03:45 ]
13. Banyen Sriwongsa - Lam Plearn Kon Baa Huay [ 03:44 ]
14. Thepporn Petchubon - Saam Gler Tiew Krung [ 03:43 ]
15. Angkanang Kunchai - Yak Si Glap Isan [ 02:54 ]
16. Chanpen Sirithep - Lam Plearn Kiew Bao [ 03:35 ]
17. Thepporn Petchubon - Fang Jai Viangjan [ 04:08 ]
18. Yenjit Porntawi - Lam Plearn Gok Kaa Kao [ 03:42 ]
19. Rome Sithammarat - Sao New Look [ 03:35 ]

Soundway's second foray into South East Asia is focused on North-East Thailand, the epicenter of Molam and Luk Thung Isan music. Hypnotic phin & khaen riffs, pulsing, electrified country rhythms and heartfelt vocals punctuate another journey into the lesser known reaches of 1970s Thai music.

The first volume of The Sound of Siam, released in 2011, was the first introduction for many to the artistry and innovations of modern Thai music. One of the most popular compilations on Soundway Records the music even made it onto the big screen with "Mae Jom Ka Lon" by Dao Bandon featured on the soundtrack of The Hangover Part II. In an interview with LA Times, Mick Jagger spoke of discovering the collection that "some nutter put together" after hearing the riff from Jumpin' Jack Flash on one of the tracks from the compilation.

In this second volume of The Sound of Siam, the focus is firmly on the music the sounds of northeast Thailand, or Isan, and attempts to show how a genre evolved and developed from essentially an acoustic tradition with specific geographic roots, to one that started to incorporate other instruments and influences that reached out to the Isan diaspora around the country.

The term "molam" is actually two separate words pushed together: Mo meaning "expert" or "doctor" and lam meaning "to sing." Hence the literal translation means "singing expert." Many molam records have extended intros that allow a vocalist to establish the theme of the song, as well as flex their improvisational muscles.

Luk thung (literally "song of the countryside")is a much broader, rural style that had a bigger impact nationally. Artists like Saksiam Petchompu began fusing this style with molam, a move which propelled him to national fame. You can hear the influence of western funk, as well as Thai arrangements, on the luk thung Isan (as the hybrid became known) smash "Jeb Jin Jeb Jai" included here.

The Sound of Siam 2 - Molam & Luk Thung Isan from North-East Thailand 1970 - 1979 features 19 tracks, many appearing outside of Thailand for the first time. Both CD and double LP & is accompanied with detailed liner notes written by compilers Chris Menist and Maft Sai.

Tired of advertising and pop-ups? Join Now on IsraBox
Register on IsraBox allows you to access to the full resources. You can see torrent links, leave your comments, see hidden text, minimum advertising (no pop-ups), ask for supports and much more.

  • 100
2 voted


Users of are not allowed to comment this publication.