Sign Up Now | Log In

Member Login


Paul Heaton & Jacqui Abbott - What Have We Become (Deluxe Edition) (2014) Lossless

26-05-2014, 12:39
Folk | Pop | Indie | FLAC / APE

Paul Heaton & Jacqui Abbott - What Have We Become (Deluxe Edition) (2014) Lossless

Artist: Paul Heaton & Jacqui Abbott
Title Of Album: What Have We Become
Year Of Release: 2014
Label: Virgin EMI Records
Genre: Indie Pop, Indie Folk
Quality: FLAC
Total Time: 62:52 min
Total Size: 436 MB


1. Paul Heaton - Moulding of a Fool (3:39)
2. Paul Heaton - D.I.Y (2:20)
3. Paul Heaton - Some Dancing to Do (4:12)
4. Paul Heaton - One Man's England (4:30)
5. Paul Heaton - What Have We Become (4:12)
6. Paul Heaton - The Snowman (3:50)
7. Paul Heaton - Costa del Sombre (3:15)
8. Paul Heaton - The Right in Me (3:17)
9. Paul Heaton - When It Was Ours (4:12)
10. Paul Heaton - I Am Not a Muse (4:47)
11. Paul Heaton - Stupid Tears (2:16)
12. Paul Heaton - When I Get Back to Blighty (4:51)
13. Paul Heaton - If He Don't (3:47)
14. Paul Heaton - My Own Mother's Son (3:18)
15. Paul Heaton - Advice to Daughters (6:37)
16. Paul Heaton - You're Gonna Miss Me (3:49)

A wonderful mix of caustic and clever, British band the Beautiful South broke up in 2007 thanks to “musical similarities,” but the two voices of the group reunite on this 2014 treasure, and it’s like everything that’s old is new again. What Have We Become? opens with a familiar, crisply hit snare, a bright piano that whisks the melody away to a sunshine place, and the heavenly harmonies of Paul Heaton and Jacqui Abbott, and yet, in the lyrics there are diamonds being shoved into mouths plus a Gil Scott-Heron interpolation that goes “The revolution will not be televised/And neither will your death” as if the Smiths just got hip. Of course, meat isn’t necessarily murder to this duo, but packaged ham and hot dogs are close enough, as the title track paints an obese picture
with “chicken wings have replaced all the fun” and “pizza boxes block out the sun,” this consumer report being delivered over the kind of majestic pop arrangement folks like Dionne Warwick favored in the late ’60s. Speaking of vintage, the music of “When I Get Back to Blighty” bounces between the sound of the Fleetwoods and old-school R&B, but Abbott’s “Of all the rotten places, I miss the rot the most” is post-punk prose entering middle age with true style. It’s not just current events as “The Right in Me” and “Stupid Tears” are brokenhearted numbers straight from the Beautiful South playbook, plus the latter is a tight rocker on an album that can play it like either Burt Bacharach or Marc Bolan. Warm moments exist among all this wry stuff as “The Snowman” winds up sweet while “You’re Gonna Miss Me” celebrates the everyman with the joyful spirit of Van Morrison’s “Cleaning Windows.” Anyone who enjoys their pop with extra wry and some sobering awareness should love What Have We Become?, but it’s the Beautiful South faithful who will rightfully gush over the release, as these antiheroes have lost none of their touch or fatalistic flair.

Tired of advertising and pop-ups? Join Now on IsraBox
Register on IsraBox allows you to access to the full resources. You can see torrent links, leave your comments, see hidden text, minimum advertising (no pop-ups), ask for supports and much more.

  • 100
3 voted


Users of are not allowed to comment this publication.