Sign Up Now | Log In

Member Login


The Clientele – Suburban Light [Expanded Reissue] (2014)

21-05-2014, 17:32
Pop | Indie

The Clientele – Suburban Light [Expanded Reissue] (2014)

Artist: The Clientele
Title Of Album: Suburban Light
Year Of Release: 2014
Label: Merge Records
Genre: Indie-Pop
Quality: MP3
Bitrate: 320 kbps
Total Time: 1:18:12


01 I Had to Say This
02 Rain
03 Reflections After Jane
04 We Could Walk Together
05 Monday’s Rain
06 Joseph Cornell
07 An Hour Before the Light
08 (I Want You) More Than Ever
09 Saturday
10 Five Day Morning
11 Bicycles
12 As Night Is Falling
13 Lacewings

14 Sarah’s Prelude *
15 6am Morningside (7″ previously released in Spain by Elefant Records, February 2000)
16 What Goes Up (7″ previously released in UK by Pointy Records, June 1998)
17 From a Window (Previously released by Merge on U.S. version of Suburban Light, 2001)
18 Driving South (Previously released in U.S. by Merge on Fading Summer EP, 2001)
19 Porcelain (Portastudio version) (7″ previously released in U.S. by Slumberland, 2001)
20 May Has Brought a Change in You *
21 Monday’s Rain (Portastudio version) *
22 Tracey Had a Hard Day Sunday (Previously released in UK by Earworm Records, 2001)
23 Six Foot Drop (7″ Previously released in U.S. by Drive in Records, 2001)

Even as the Clientele‘s hazy, soft-focus indie pop suggests the influence of virtually every musical ancestor worth acknowledging, the band’s pastoral beauty nevertheless conjures a dreamscape entirely its own; fusing the heady otherness of psychedelia with the gentle caress of folk, Suburban Light swirls and settles like gold dust. Like the artist Joseph Cornell, the titular subject of one of the disc’s most memorable songs, the Clientele assemble and juxtapose found fragments (collected from forebears like Love, Nick Drake, and Donovan) and transform their source materials into something magical and new; although the record’s 13 cuts assemble various singles and scattered recordings, the finished product hangs together with a clear sense of purpose and scope.

While Alasdair MacLean’s plain-spoken, heartfelt vocals and subtle guitar arpeggios are the focus of the record, it’s impossible to underrate the thoughtful, always supportive bass playing of James Hornsey and drummers Daniel Evans and Howard Monk. Together they create a haunting, poetic, and rich sound that’s unlike any indie pop being created by their contemporaries. Suburban Light is a brilliant introduction to the band where, over repeated listens, the songs grow both more distinctive and more interconnected, boasting a richly nuanced intricacy as intoxicating as it is elusive.

Merge’s 2014 reissue of the album adds a second disc of tracks recorded between 1997 and 2001 on the same lo-fi eight-track gear as the songs that make up Suburban Light. The songs are a mix of B-sides, EP and split single tracks, and unreleased songs (the very pretty “May Has Brought a Change in You” is a highlight), each of them good enough to have been on the album proper. The collection now presents a much fuller picture of the Clientele during their crucial formative years, which makes it well worth trading in your old copy of the album for this new release.

Tired of advertising and pop-ups? Join Now on IsraBox
Register on IsraBox allows you to access to the full resources. You can see torrent links, leave your comments, see hidden text, minimum advertising (no pop-ups), ask for supports and much more.

  • 100
2 voted

LD   User offline   23 May 2014 13:32

Huge thanks for this one - Muchas Gracias.

  • Dislike
  • 0
  • Like


Users of are not allowed to comment this publication.