Sign Up Now | Log In

Member Login


High Speed Downloads

Mary Jenson - Beyond (2011)
[MP3 Version]

8946 downloads at 13 mb/s

Mary Jenson - Beyond (2011)
[FLAC Version]

9672 downloads at 25 mb/s

Mary Jenson - Beyond (2011)

17-05-2014, 19:28
Music | Jazz | Vocal Jazz

Mary Jenson - Beyond (2011)

Artist: Mary Jenson
Title Of Album: Beyond
Year Of Release: 2011
Genre: Jazz Vocals
Label: Mary Jenson
Format: MP3
Quality: 320 kbps, 44.1 Khz
Total Time: 55:08
Total Size: 129 Mb
Covers: Front

01. Temptation (4:09)
02. Say My Name (4:36)
03. Come Together (4:50)
04. Beyond (5:39)
05. Flying, Falling… (6:17)
06. Too High (Feat. Darian Gray) (5:24)
07. Moon At The Window (4:19)
08. Anouman (6:13)
09. The Lamp Is Low (5:35)
10. Orange Blossoms In Summertime (4:32)
11. Things My Mother Said (3:30)

Vocalist Mary Jenson follows her well-received 2009 recording Close Your Eyes (Self Produced) with an homage to the dream state with Beyond. Coming from a large military family that never stayed put for long, Jenson developed a gypsy's soul and a musical taste for the world rhythmic and cosmopolitan. Her song selection is novel, including compositions by The Beatles ("Come Together"), Stevie Wonder ("Too High") and Joni Mitchell ("Moon at the Window").

But it is the opener, Tom Waits' "Temptation," that really captures Jenson's world music-jazz view. Pianist Frank Martin sets up swirling smoke over the poly-rhythms of drummer Will Kennedy and uber-percussionist Alex Acuna. The arrangement is light, with moments of inventive melodic grounding firmly in in the warm climes of the Caribbean rim. Jenson's pliable voice shares these characteristics of the arrangement. She transforms this Waits ballad (sung to great humid effect by Cote de Pablo in the opening episode of NCIS, Season 6). Jenson takes away some of the humidity and adds complex undulations, giving the piece a more urgent and visceral punch. ~C. Michael Bailey

Personnel: Mary Jenson: vocals; Frank Martin: keyboards; Mads Tolling: violin; Jose Neto: guitar; Ralphe Armstrong: bass; Will Kennedy: drums; Alex Acuna: percussion.

Uploaded | Oboom | Turbobit

Tired of advertising and pop-ups? Join Now on IsraBox
Register on IsraBox allows you to access to the full resources. You can see torrent links, leave your comments, see hidden text, minimum advertising (no pop-ups), ask for supports and much more.

  • 100
3 voted


Users of are not allowed to comment this publication.