Sign Up Now | Log In

Member Login


Sibelius - Violin Concerto: Karelia Suite (2014) Lossless

4-05-2014, 16:58
Classical Music | FLAC / APE

Sibelius - Violin Concerto: Karelia Suite (2014) Lossless

Artist: Sibelius
Title Of Album: Violin Concerto: Karelia Suite
Year Of Release: 2014
Label: Chandos
Genre: Classical
Quality: FLAC
Total Time: 78:18 min
Total Size: 317 MB


01 Violin Concerto in D Minor, Op. 47 - I. Allegro moderato [15:46]
02 Violin Concerto in D Minor, Op. 47 - II. Adagio di molto [08:16]
03 Violin Concerto in D Minor, Op. 47 - III. Allegro ma non tanto [07:44]
04 Karelia Suite, Op. 11 - I. Intermezzo - Moderato [04:03]
05 Karelia Suite, Op. 11 - II. Ballade - Tempo di menuetto [07:13]
06 Karelia Suite, Op. 11 - III. Alla marcia - Moderato [04:27]
07 Lemminkainen Suite, Op. 22 - II. The Swan of Tuonela [08:16]
08 3 Pieces, Op. 96 - Valse lyrique, Op. 96a [04:09]
09 Valse triste, Op. 44, No. 1 [05:03]
10 Andante festivo (version for string orchestra) [04:06]
11 Finlandia, Op. 26 [08:16]

Jean Sibelius is perhaps best known for his seven great symphonies but there is also a large body of music for the concert hall, the theatre, and the salon, some of which is explored on this release. The Violin Concerto in D minor, Sibelius's only full-length concerto, marries brilliantly idiomatic writing for the solo instrument with the seriousness characteristic of the symphonies. Intensely virtuosic, it is both a dramatic and a deeply romantic work. The Swan of Tuonela comes from the suite of four Lemminkäinen Legends, inspired by traditional Finnish myths. In it the majestic motion of the swan is evoked by the arching phrases of the cor anglais. Also featured are two well-known shorter works indelibly linked with Finnish identity. Finlandia became a national emblem of the Finnish struggle for independence from Russia while Andante festivo is a staple of Finnish public occasions. The Karelia Suite is another patriotic work, the rough-hewn character of its three movements intended to evoke a folk-like authenticity.

Sir Andrew Davis continues his relationship with the Bergen Philharmonic Orchestra in this their third recording together on Chandos. They are joined in the Violin Concerto by Jennifer Pike, one of the brightest young violinists performing today.

Tired of advertising and pop-ups? Join Now on IsraBox
Register on IsraBox allows you to access to the full resources. You can see torrent links, leave your comments, see hidden text, minimum advertising (no pop-ups), ask for supports and much more.

  • 80
3 voted

loverr   User offline   4 May 2014 17:22


  • Dislike
  • 0
  • Like


Users of are not allowed to comment this publication.