Sign Up Now | Log In

Member Login


Lee Moses – Time & Place (1965–72) [Remastered]

25-04-2014, 14:27
Music | Soul

Lee Moses – Time & Place (1965–72) [Remastered]

Artist: Lee Moses
Title Of Album: Time & Place
Year Of Release: 2007
Label: Sanctuary Records CMQ 1350
Genre: Soul
Quality: MP3 | FLAC
Bitrate: VBR 0 | 16Bit/44kHz
Total Size: 146 MB | 329 MB
Total Time: 70:59
Website: Discogs

01. My Adorable One 02:56
02. Diana (From N.Y.C.) 02:22
03. Reach Out I'll Be There 02:47
04. Day Tripper 02:03
05. Bad Girl (part 1) 02:27
06. Bad Girl (part 2) 02:21
07. I'm Sad About It 02:48
08. How Much Longer (Must I Wait) 02:40
09. If Loving You Is A Crime (I´ll Always Be Guilty) 02:36
10. Never In My Life 02:42
11. Time And Place (single version) 03:05
12. I Can't Take No Chances 02:48
13. Time And Place 02:58
14. Got That Will 03:01
15. What You Don't Want Me To Be 02:52
16. California Dreaming 04:25
17. Every Boy And Girl 02:43
18. Hey Joe 06:12
19. Free At Last 03:50
20. Would You Give Up Everything 03:24
21. Adorable One 03:48
22. The Dark End Of The Street 03:23
23. She's A Bad Girl 02:59

He has recorded one LP and several singles. You find all of them on this CD:
Lee Moses – Time & Place (1965–72) [Remastered]

Review from RateYourMusic:
Another unsung hero in the Southern Soul canon, Lee Moses cut just one longplaying album and a few singles, but the unbridled mastery of the man's voice and guitar chops has long made his album 'Time and Place' a cult favorite to those in the know.
Building quite a name for himself as a session guitarist, Moses churned out some appetizing, scorching Southern Soul sides on his own for a variety of labels that all aptly demonstrated the man's huge talents.
'Time and Place' kicks off with the title-track, a sizzling slice of down home, Southern fried funk, showcasing Lee's tight guitar riffs and his wonderful voice. Think of O.V. Wright with even more grit, and you have Lee Moses. Great horns throughout, as well here.
"Got That Will" namechecks a host of superstars; Jimi Hendrix, Sly Stone, Aretha Franklin, a funky tribute to Moses' heroes. Penned by himself and Herman Hitson, Moses wails on how he too is going to make it.
Next up is the most hauntingly beautiful track of the entire disc, the ravaging, devastatingly intense "What You Don't Want Me to Be". Lee's vocals are smothered in sheer despair and unimaginable sadness. The spooky vibe is further enhanced by ghostly, gospelish backup vocals. One of the greatest Southern Soul ballads ever committed to vinyl.
Moses' penchant for hard driving funk grooves is further explored on a thundering version of "California Dreaming" and especially on the lurching, fatback, electrified "Hey Joe". Lee's guitar work is simply brilliant here; down and dirty, greasy and raw. Southern Soul fused with a huge dosis of back beat heavy funk. And boy that wailin'... Soul personified.
Lee proves his talent as a songwriter once more with the divine, sparsely orchestrated "Every Boy and Girl", featuring more of those weeping female backing vocals.
Then there's the delicious mid-tempo beater "Free at Last". Moses' gruffy pipes are set to another thick, rollicking funk groove while the man guides himself on guitar, pluckin' some heavenly chords.
Wah wah'd superfunk blasts through the speaker as Moses delves into the highly syncopated "Would You Give Up Everything". Listen to him roar on the verses here, this is Southern Soul at its rawest, something that was becoming quite rare in the early '70s.
Closing the LP is a cover of Joe Simon's "My Adorable One", a tune he had previously recorded as a single in the late '60s.
This is Funk and Soul at the crossroads. A ferociously raw album brimming with Lee's tremendous, gutbucket vocals and his equally funky guitar chops.

Biography from Allmusic:
A funky guitarist with a rough and powerful deep soul singing style, Atlanta musician Lee Moses deserved a much wider audience during his lifetime, but although he released several dynamite singles and an engaging album in the late '60s and early '70s, he is a true lost figure in the history of R&B. Moses was born on March 13, 1941, in Atlanta, GA, and attended Booker T. Washington High School, where he sang in talent shows and learned to play guitar. He formed his first band, the Showstoppers, in the 1950s, and the group was an extremely big draw in the Atlanta area. Moses met New York producer and scene hustler Johnny Brauntly around 1965 and began working as a session guitarist for him (along with another session player, some left-handed guitarist named Jimi Hendrix) in the Big Apple. Moses cut three singles for Musicor Records in 1967, followed by a couple more for Dynamo Records and a nine-track solo LP in 1971 for Maple Records entitled Time and Place, which saw him backed by his own band, now called the Disciples, and various members of the Ohio Players. The album sold little at the time but has become a revered and highly sought-after lost treasure for deep soul fans and collectors. Moses' last known release was a version of "The Dark End of the Street," which appeared as a single on Gates Records in the early '70s. He returned to Atlanta shortly thereafter and the city remained his home base for the rest of his life. He gigged locally there but apparently did not record again. He died in Atlanta in 1997. Castle Music combined all of Moses' singles with the 1971 LP tracks in 2007 and released them as the Time and Place CD, essentially creating a long-awaited collected works anthology.

More info here:



Tired of advertising and pop-ups? Join Now on IsraBox
Register on IsraBox allows you to access to the full resources. You can see torrent links, leave your comments, see hidden text, minimum advertising (no pop-ups), ask for supports and much more.

  • 100
4 voted

Rapsodas   User offline   5 November 2015 18:00

thank you so much 1

  • Dislike
  • 0
  • Like


Users of are not allowed to comment this publication.